Cannon Masters Whitcomb Memorial


Front row starter Donnie Schick took the lead at the start of the late model feature. Schick was trailed by polesitter Hayes Mattern, fourth-place starter Chad Davis, sixth-place starter Jerry Bard, and 10th-place starter Jim Yoder in the top five. By the fifth circuit, 12th-place starter Jeff Rine entered the top five and began advancing his way to the front of the pack.

On the 11th circuit, Rine drove into the runner-up position and set his sights on Schick. Rine reeled in Schick and made the winning pass using the inside lane racing off turn four on the 15th lap. Once in front of the pack, Rine streaked away from the field and posted a six-second margin of victory over Schick, Jim Bernheisel, Matt Cochran, and Chad Davis.

Second-place starter AJ Stroup pulled into the lead at the start of the pro stock feature. Stroup was chased by sixth-place starter Kyle Bachman through the eighth lap when third-place starter Brad Mitch drove into the runner-up position.

As Mitch closed in on Stroup for the lead, he turned his car sideways in turn four and brought out the caution flag. Bachman reclaimed the runner-up position and chased Stroup to the finish. Stroup’s margin of victory was a mere .51 of a second over Bachman, Troy Miller, Terry Lauver, and Nate Stroup.

Third-place starter Ray Rothfuss powered into the lead at the start of the roadrunner feature. Rothfuss was chased by fifth-place starter Bob Bussey for the first two laps. On the third circuit, Bussey made the winning pass by Rothfuss using the inside line in turn two.

Sixth-place starter Brian Johnson held the second position for several laps until his car developed mechanical problems. Rothfuss was back in contention the final four laps as he pressured Bussey for the lead and win. At the checkered flag, Bussey was victorious by the slimmest of margins over Rothfuss, Butch Shaffer, Chris Hoffman, and Ricky Bender.