Busy Night At Limaland

Dustin Stroup pulled away to win Friday night's feature at Limaland Motorsports Park. (LMP photo)
Dustin Stroup pulled away to win Friday night's feature at Limaland Motorsports Park. (LMP photo)
Dustin Stroup pulled away to win Friday night’s feature at Limaland Motorsports Park. (LMP photo)

LIMA, Ohio – Limaland Motorsports Park concluded its 17th season under the ownership and operation of the University of Northwestern Ohio by crowning track champions in all three racing divisions and the touring K & L Ready Mix NRA Sprint Invaders on Friday.

The evening’s features began with the 25-lap K & L Ready Mix NRA season final. Pole starter Hud Horton led the 20-car field to green and proceeded to set the pace through the first half of the feature.

At the midpoint, Dustin Stroup produced a superb inside pass of Horton heading down the backstretch and took over race leadership. It was a lead he would not surrender, although Horstman continued to push towards the front. Stroup held on for his first triumph at the track with Horstman and visiting Michigan veteran Dustin Daggett rounding out the podium finishers.

J.R. Stewart recorded an eighth place result that handed him a fifth track championship and the NRA title.

A 20-car field of Reineke modifieds took to the track with returning Indiana ace Randy Lines and Jeff Babcock starting up front. Points leader Todd Sherman opened from the third row and was expected to choose a safe driving strategy to protect his advantage and lock down the championship.

Linesran his usual up-against-the wall style with Babcock doing all he could to rattle the leader and possibly slip around for the lead. He was unable to do so as Lines survived a series of late race cautions to capture his second feature win in two attempts at the track this season.

Veteran Terry Hull, a three-time former champion, was making his final start at the track where he had won 34 features over the year. Hull finished fifth.

The Budweiser Thunderstocks 15-lap main was again dominated by the front row starters. Shawn Valenti and four-time season winner Jeff Koz swapped the lead during the race a with Valenti leading the opening circuit while Koz took over the point on laps two and three. Valenti regained it and never looked back.

Anderson claimed a record ninth track championship.

The night of racing also saw the 16th edition of the King of Quarter Mile 10-lap contests. They matched all feature winners throughout the season for a total of $6,000 in additional prize money. Randy Lines, a perfect two for two in features at the track this season, also won the $2,000 Modified King race.

Max Stambaugh, who won a pair of features at the track during the season, finished runner-up in both the track sprint car and NRA point’s standings.

Stambaugh, to the delight of his hometown crowd, outlasted veteran Randy Hannagan in a thrilling four lap dash to the finish to win the $3,000 Sprints King crown.

Valenti added to his feature win from earlier in the evening to take the $1,000 Thunderstocks King race.

The finish:

Dustin Stroup, Jared Horstman, Dustin Daggett, Randy Hannagan, Hud Horton, Greg Wilson, Shawn Dancer, Jr Stewart, Ron Blair, Nick Roberts, Butch Schroeder, Max Stambaugh, Tim Allison, ess Stiger, Brandon Ferguson, Kevin Roberts, Paul Dues, Gregg Dalman, Tyler Moore, Devon Dobie