Barr & Alleman Lead Williams Grove Winners


Jared Miller and Wes Alleman were the front row combatants for the start of the 358 late Model feature. Miller, working the bottom lane, had the early edge. By the sixth lap, Wes Alleman used his higher lane to become the new leader. Miller rallied, and over the next four laps, the lead duo raced side by side.

At the midway point of the 20-lap feature, Miller was back in front. He held the lead for two laps before relinquishing it to Alleman. Alleman, from Newville, gained a four-length lead in lapped traffic. In the final lap the leader encountered heavy lapped traffic. Alleman made a daring move in the final turns, splitting two slower cars. He won the caution-free race by four lengths over Miller, Larry Baer, Charlie Schaffer, and Gene Knaub.

Baer, Knaub, and Grant Adams won the qualifiers for the 21-car field.

Mike Buckley started on the outside of the Street Stock front row. Buckley led from the start, gaining a five-car length advantage.

There was a caution on lap six. Buckley, from Mechanicsburg, drove away from the field. There was a big battle for second featuring Bob Gutshall, Craig Morgan, Pat McNeal, Jeff Haag, and Tim Drawbaugh. The hardy competition by the group allowed Buckley to increase his lead.

Mike Buckley won the race by nine lengths. Moments after crossing the finish line smoke erupted from Buckley’s engine. Morgan, Gutshall, McNeal, and Haag completed the top five.

Greg Diehl and Bob Gutshall won the heats for the 18 competitors.

Previous articleHillier & Lemley Star At Skagit
Next articleIt’s Tyler Thomas In Oklahoma is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.