ARPY Belongs To Steve Beitler

Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Steve Beitler and Jody Deery. (RPM photo)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Steve Beitler, promoter of Skagit Speedway and Grays Harbor Raceway, the Summer Thunder Sprint Tour and Washington Modified Tour, was revealed as recipient of the 42nd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Award.

The award, which is sponsored by Racing Promotion Monthly and Charlotte Motor Speedway, was awarded at the Hilton Daytona Beach.

Readers of Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, chose Beitler from among six regional nominees.

Honored as Regional Auto Racing Promoters of the Year were Beitler; Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (N.Y.) Speedway; Paul Purvis, Swainsboro (Ga.) Speedway; Ron Flinn, Crystal (Mich.) Speedway; Gregg McKarns, Madison Int’l (Wis.) Speedway; and John McCoy, Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway.

Devore, Purvis, Flinn, McKarns, and McCoy received first-time nominations, and Beitler his fourth nomination.

Talladega Short Track’s annual January Ice Bowl, the first race of the new year in the southern United States, which this season celebrated 27 years, received the Racing Promotion Monthly Award for Outstanding Annual Short Track Event.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly.