Anderson Impresses At Hagerstown


With five to go, Anderson continued the charge to the checkered and won by .804 second as Weaver finished in the runner up position for the third consecutive time in SBB competition at Hagerstown. Hulson was followed by Knaub and tenth starter Tyler Armstrong.

“I wasn’t sure in the beginning, Hulson went down there and parked and I got in the back of him there and the 86 had to check up,” Anderson said. “We fell back there and then we got rolling. I have to thank Dougie and Doug for letting me drive this thing. It’s almost a dream come true.”

Kyle Lear was sixth after starting 11th with 18th starter Rick Singleton next followed by Chad Myers from 20th. Brad Ritter (13th) and Bruce Kane (15th) completed the top ten. Scott Palmer, Walter Arthur, Mike Walls and Hulson were the heat winners with Paul Cursey and Singleton winning the consolations.

Keith Koontz pulled to the pure stock lead from the outside pole to have brother Kevin take second and challenge him as the front pack ran two and three wide. Catlett came from seventh to squeeze past the brothers and take the lead on lap eight. Kevin K. held to second with Kevin Boyer taking the spot with five to go while Darrin Younker got past Koontz for third with two to go. Koontz ended fourth over Mike Warrenfeltz. Catlett and Boyer were the heat winners.

After a spin by the polesitter Devin Welsh on the opening lap of the hobby stock feature, the race remained under green until the finish. Gary Proctor charged from third into the lead over Kenny Thomas. Thomas led the 13th and 14th laps until Proctor got under to retake the lead on the backstretch of the final lap and win by less than a car length over Thomas and Mark Vegh. Joe Rodgers and William Crook were next. Thomas and Proctor were the heat winners.

Previous articleSpithaler Rules Mercer Dirt
Next articleGada Continues Waterford Family History is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.