Anderson Doubles His Fun At Hagerstown


Chaz Walls was sixth over Frankie Plessinger, Wayne Walls Jr., Justin Weaver and 21st starter, Will Rowe. Eleventh finisher James Lichliter came from 24th and was the Liberty Auto and Tire hard charger. Heats went to Walls Jr., Flaherty and Chad Myers.

Billy Farmer and John Baker occupied the front row for the Mayberry Night feature with deputy sheriff Barney Fife impersonator Scott Epperson spending the night and providing entertainment.

Farmer grabbed the lead as Flaherty took second from his third staring spot. Anderson passed Cursey following a fourth lap restart and was third by a fifth lap red flag when Nick Pappas made hard contact with the first turn fence. On the restart, Flaherty’s car would not refire and he was pushed pitside.

Anderson moved up for the restart and immediately blasted past Farmer and by the 14th lap when he caught the rear of the field, was 5.84 seconds ahead of Farmer.

Anderson worked traffic with caution, but also with ease as he continued uncontested until the finish and was just over five seconds ahead of Farmer and 11th starting Justin Weaver the current point leader. Baker and Kyle Lear were next.

“It helped with Flaherty dropping out, sorry he had bad luck,” Anderson said. “We had a couple good breaks starting from 12th. It helps when you get a couple good breaks going your way. This car is good pretty much of the time. All we did tonight was put fuel in it. It’s just a good car.”

Cursey ended sixth followed by Robby Black (10th), Walls Jr., Michael Walls (14th) and Frankie Plessinger. Heats went to Anderson, Baker and Farmer with Chad Myers winning the consy.

Palmer was the Liberty Auto and Tire hard charger with an advance from 23rd to 13th.

Drew Fitzsimmons led the pure stocks until the 12th lap when Darrin Younker advanced from ninth to second by lap nine in the nonstop feature. He made the winning pass with three laps to go and won by .532 seconds over Fitzsimmons. Kevin Boyer in third was the hard charger with Rick Stouffer and Tony Catlett completing the top five. Fitzsimmons and Boyer were the heat winners.

Gary Proctor ran the fast lap of 25.720 for the special hobby stock feature and with a two car invert, Tom Caravello began on the pole and beat Proctor off the line to lead all 15 laps. With one to go, Proctor was collected when a rear car spun as Jason Sarver tried to unseat Caravello on the restart, but two lengths separated the two at the finish. Dylan Welsh, Joe Rodgers and Kenny Thomas were next.