Editor’s Note: The following stories were featured on page three of the Nov. 5, 1980 issue of National Speed Sport News.

WFMS Emphasis On Organizers & Teams

World Federation of Motor SportExperts were pondering the move by the teams of the Formula One Constructor’s Ass’n to break away from the Federation International du Sport Auto in order to stage its own Grand Prix series in 1981 to be called the World Professional Drivers Championship. The series will be sponsored by a brand new sanctioning body called The World Federation of Motor Sport.

The move, in defiance of FIA President Jean-Marie Balestre who threatened to throw the teams and anyone having dealings with them out of the French governing body’s orbit, appears to have far more reaching implications than just the establishment of what has been called an outlaw Formula One championship.

The rebel World Federation of Motor Sport, consisting of the Arrows, ATS, Brabham, Ensign, Fittipaldi, Ligier, Lotus, McLaren, Ram Racing, Tyrrell and Williams teams, with another team expected to join soon, said they are prepared to field a minimum of 23 cars in each of the 15 events listed on their 1981 calendar with three more races still possible.

The champion of this circuit is guaranteed $1 million with the season-long prize fund hitting $10 million, making it the richest auto racing series in the world.

Other Headlines

– Waltrip Released, Rudd New Driver

DiGard Racing officials announced that Darrell Waltrip had been released from the remaining three years of his contract with the team, which hired Ricky Rudd as his replacement.

– Atlanta To Yarborough

Cale Yarborough led 289 of 328 laps to win the Atlanta Journal 500 NASCAR Winston Cup Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

– Wrangler Team Set

Wrangler announced it has signed a three-year contract with Rod Osterlund Racing to sponsor NASCAR Sprint Cup Series point leader Dale Earnhardt.