HEADLINES: Senor Kinser Stars In Mexico

HEADLINES: Senor Kinser
Steve Kinser, seen here several years ago before his retirement from racing, won a World of Outlaws feature in Mexico in 1992.

SPEED SPORT has been covering auto racing for 85 years, and over that time, tens of thousands of stories from all forms of motorsports have been told in its pages, as well as online.

Did you know that 20-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion Steve Kinser once won a WoO feature in Mexico? We look back at that 1992 race in this week’s edition of Torn From The Headlines.

CIUDAD JUAREZ, Mexico — Multi-time World of Outlaws sprint car champion Steve Kinser has taken home hardware from across the United States and from Australia, but Feb. 23 he added a new locale to his long list of victories.

Kinser topped the Outlaws’ debut in Mexico, taking the top spot from polesitter Lee Brewer Jr. in turn three on the sixth revolution of the quarter-mile Autopista Juarez dirt oval and leading the rest of the way for the win.

His recently-redesigned Valvoline No. 11 sprinter was the class of the field, but Kinser endured a few close shaves before he could celebrate in victory lane. Working lap 18 of the feature, the 11-time Outlaw champion was negotiating lapped traffic when his car collided with that of Mark Fleming.

Though nerves were heightened momentarily, Kinser was able to continue on unhindered.

With seven laps left, Kinser was set to lap the slower cars of Craig Keel and B main winner Jim Carr when Carr and Keel collided, sending Keel’s No. 8 into a series of flips.

As he was airborne, Keel’s car barely avoided making contact with the top wing of Kinser’s machine, allowing the King of the Outlaws to motor on yet again.

After that, Kinser was able to drive away in the closing laps and ultimately take an eight-car-length victory over Kenny Jacobs, Stevie Smith, Andy Hillenburg and Danny Lasoski.

Jacobs inherited the runner-up spot when Brewer spun in turn four on lap eight and chased Kinser the rest of the way to the checkered flag, but was unable to catch Kinser.

The second five consisted of Mark Kinser, Johnny Herrera, Danny Smith, Terry McCarl and Gary Wright.

Sunday’s feature was marred by an opening-lap crash that eliminated Gary Cameron II and Chris Ikard, after that duo collided with Dave Blaney and fast-qualifier Aaron Berryhill in a multi-car incident.

Blaney was able to get his right-front tire changed and rejoin the field, while Berryhill also continued.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): Steve Kinser, Kenny Jacobs, Stevie Smith, Andy Hillenburg, Danny Lasoski, Mark Kinser, Johnny Herrera, Danny Smith, Terry McCarl, Gary Wright, Lee Brewer Jr., Dave Blaney, Marty Wilcox, Jim Carr, Ted Lee, Mark Fleming, John Ziehl, Craig Keel, Aaron Berryhill, Theo McCarty, Jerry Coons Jr., John Carney, Gary Cameron II, Chris Ikard.