KERCHNER: Knoxville Nuggets


KNOXVILLE, Iowa — There will be a lot to watch in tonight’s 53rd annual FVP Knoxville Nationals at Knoxville Raceway.

Can local hero Brian Brown continue a near-perfect week and win from the front row? Will polesitter Joey Saldana salvage a frustrating season with the biggest victory of his career and join his dad, Joe, on the Knoxville Nationals winner’s list?

Those are only a few of the questions regarding drivers already in the field.

Danny Lasoski will be seeking his fifth Nationals title from 13th starting spot. Only twice has a driver come from that far back. Kyle Larson, who looked dominant on Friday night, starts 17th.

Six-time Nationals champion Donny Schatz starts fourth in the B main and can start no better than 21st in the feature if he makes it. There’s no question he could win from that far back.

“They could start Schatz in Oskaloosa and he could win this thing,” Brown said on Thursday.

Tim Kaeding, Terry McCarl and Craig Dollansky are among drivers starting the night in the B main. Tim Shaffer, who won the Nationals in 2010, begins the night in the C Main along with 2005 winner Kraig Kinser. Many-time All Star champion Dale Blaney leads the drivers in the D main and two-time Nationals champ Sammy Swindell will start fifth in the E main, the first race of the night.

Previous article24 Hours Can Change A Lot
Next articlePHOTOS: Knoxville Nationals Night Three
Mike Kerchner
Mike Kerchner is a veteran racing journalist and has been a member of the SPEED SPORT family since joining Chris Economaki at National Speed Sport News in 1991. He is now the Editor-in-Chief of SPEED SPORT Magazine.