Solberg Claims World Rallycross Finale

Peter Solberg celebrates his victory in Sunday's FIA World Rallycross finale in Argentina. (World Rallycross Photo)
Peter Solberg celebrates his victory in Sunday's FIA World Rallycross finale in Argentina. (World Rallycross Photo)
Petter Solberg celebrates his victory in Sunday’s FIA World Rallycross finale in Argentina. (World Rallycross Photo)

SAN LUIS, Argentina – Petter Solberg has ended his title-winning season in style by winning the closing round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy in San Luis, Argentina.

Ford Olsbergs MSE won a three-way battle for the Teams’ Championship as teammates Reinis Nitiss and Andreas Bakkerud finished second and sixth respectively. RX Lites Cup winner Kevin Eriksson drove spectacularly during his Supercar debut to clinch third.

Solberg’s win in Argentina is the Norwegian’s fifth victory of the year for the PSRX Team and sees the driver end the inaugural World RX season with a total of 267 points. Volkswagen Marklund Motorsport’s Topi Heikkinen amassed enough points Sunday to earn the 23-year-old Finn the runner-up spot. Nitiss ends the season third overall in points.

“This is a dream come true. We started the season with a win in Portugal, and to finish with another win in Argentina feels really amazing,” said Solberg, who was also awarded the Monster Energy Super Charge Award after his rapid start from pole position. “This championship has so many talented drivers and I am extremely impressed with the high standard of driving we have had this year – especially from the younger guys. Now I’m looking forward to Doha for the FIA Awards Ceremony but I will be back and fighting for more seasons to come. I’d like to thank my whole team for working so hard throughout this year – there will be a big party tonight, that’s for sure.”

There was a three-way battle for the Teams’ Championship going into Argentina with Volkswagen Marklund Motorsport, Ford Olsbergs MSE and Team Peugeot-Hansen all still capable of winning the accolade. Peugeot-Hansen was knocked out of winning contention when Timmy Hansen and Timur Timerzyanov failed to score enough points at the Intermediate Classification stage. Tension mounted further when Topi Heikkinen’s engine failed in heat four and VW Marklund were forced to repair the Polo RX Supercar before the semis.

A fraught two semi-finals were to follow, but the Ford squad sealed the silverware when Anton Marklund was denied a spot in the final and both Ford team-mates went through.

“I am so proud of my team – to win this trophy with Olsbergs who have worked so hard all year is such a good feeling,” said Nitiss.

“It’s always disappointing to be second but actually our aim at the start of the year was to finish in the top three so this is something we must all remember. I think we have learned a lot for next year and we will be back and fighting hard. Topi finished second in the drivers’ standings to finish the year with two second places is something our whole team are really happy with,” said Marklund.

After another impressive drive in the Peugeot 208 Supercar, 22-year-old Timmy Hansen finished fourth in Argentina for Team Peugeot-Hansen. The talented driver also ends the season fourth overall. Teammate Timur Timerzyanov retired on the first lap of semi-final two following a technical issue with his car.

Despite showing good speed, Britain’s Liam Doran had a troubled return to World RX. The Monster Energy World RX Team driver failed to qualify after a technical infringement cost him a spot in the semi-finals. Teammate Henning Solberg was also denied a place in the semis after the driver struggled with car issues on day one.

The year ended on a high for Scottish-based team Albatec Racing who had both drivers in the semi-finals for the first time this season. Elsewhere local driver Miguel Baldoni had an impressive RX debut as the former Argentine Rally Champion entertained the local fans by finishing the event ninth overall.