Higgins & Drew Conquer Sno*Drift Rally

David Higgins and Craig Drew co-drove to victory in the Sno*Drift Rally. (Alex Haugen photo)
David Higgins and Craig Drew co-drove to victory in the Sno*Drift Rally. (Alex Haugen photo)
David Higgins and Craig Drew co-drove to victory in the Sno*Drift Rally. (Alex Haugen photo)

ATLANTA, Mich. — Subaru Rally Team USA’s David Higgins and Craig Drew won a frigid Sno*Drift Rally to take the first victory of the 2014 Rally America National Championship season Jan. 24-25.

It was a close 2:10.5 finish for Higgins and Drew over Rockstar Energy Drink Rally Team’s Antoine L’Estage and co-driver Marshal Clarke, considering that getting stuck in a snow bank could change a team’s fortune instantly.

L’Estage led Sno*Drift early on the first day, even having punctured tire on stage five. Meanwhile, Higgins dealt with overheating issues of his own and lost valuable time when his hood popped open and obscured their view through an entire stage. After the first service Higgins bypassed L’Estage for the event lead and never relinquished it. L’Estage kept within striking distance throughout day two in case the Subaru drivers made a mistake, but settled for second place overall.

“Last year Antoine hurt us really bad when he beat us on the last stage at Sno*Drift,” said Higgins. “These difficult conditions can change so quickly and you never know what you are going to get. That just makes me pleased to set the year off and get the points in the bag. Now, I am looking forward to getting on the gravel at the Rally in the 100 Acre Wood.”

Super Production’s Lauchlin O’Sullivan and co-driver Scott Putnam took the class win and finished an impressive third overall. The class victory returns the 2012 Super Production champs to their former glory after a disappointing 2013 rally season that resulted in missed events and poor performance.

“It’s great to make a comeback after such a difficult 2013 season,” said O’Sullivan, “To come out and get this was a work in discipline, especially when there are four up-and-coming SP drivers to compete against. I had to drive in these icy conditions not too fast or too slow. I just had to keep doing my thing and not worry about what the others are doing. I just avoided that one ‘gotcha’ that could end it.”

Dillon Van Way and Andrew Edwards finished in second place for their third consecutive podium stemming from last year since moving into Super Production from the Two-Wheel Drive (2WD) category. 2013 Rookie of the Year, Nick Roberts, with co-driver Rhianon Gelsomino rounded out the podium for third place.

In 2WD, Scion Racing Rally xD’s new driver, Matthew Johnson, paired with co-driver Jeremy Wimpey took his first victory after spending four seasons away from the sport. Johnson was expecting a challenge from Ford Racing’s Andrew Comrie-Picard, but the anticipated battle never materialized following Comrie-Picard losing 35 minutes from getting stuck in a snow bank.

“I’m really happy with this result,” said Johnson. “I’ve been mentally preparing myself to get back in the driver seat for a couple of years and I’m really fortunate to have this opportunity by Scion Racing. They prepared a great car with a special engine for Sno*Drift, and it really paid off for the team. I couldn’t be more excited for the rest of this year.”

Comrie-Picard’s misfortune helped move brothers Troy Miller and co-driver Jeremy Miller into second place for their first national podium. Troy Miller is in the hunt for the 2014 Rookie of the Year. Honda Performance Development’s James Robinson and Jordan Guitar took third for their second 2WD category podium and also took the B-SPEC Class victory in the process. Robinson is the reigning 2013 B-SPEC Champion and he took an important first step in defending his title.

Erik Zenz and Dustin Masters won Friday’s Sno Regional Rally, and Jon Kramer and Jared Lantzy narrowly won Saturday’s Drift Regional Rally by 10.2 seconds.




Previous articleSauter & Cannon Lead SpeedFest Qualifying
Next articleHometown Hayes Rules Arenacross
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.