Global Rallycross Kicks Off In Barbados


LOS ANGELES – Red Bull Global Rallycross opens its season May 17-18 in Barbados, in conjunction with Top Gear Festival Barbados.

“We are extremely excited for the future of our series, with the great support from our TV partner NBC, our amazing line up of sponsors and the unprecedented manufacturer participation,”  Red Bull Global Rallycross CEO Colin Dyne said.

The series’ 10-race schedule features a number of new events. GRC races will be broadcast on network television.

New partner NBC Sports Group will carry nine race broadcasts on the NBC broadcast network, primarily live, with re-airs on cable on NBC Sports Network.

Two-time Red Bull GRC champion Tanner Foust, 2013 GRC Vegas winner Ken Block, and 2013 X Games Brazil gold medalist Scott Speed headline a driver roster that also includes former Pikes Peak Hill Climb world record holder Rhys Millen, three-time European rallycross champion Sverre Isachsen, former F1 and NASCAR driver Nelson Piquet Jr., and 2013 GRC Sportsmanship Award winner Bucky Lasek.

Emma Gilmour, a three-time runner up in the New Zealand Rally Championship, will become the first female driver in series history in Barbados, joining a rookie class that includes 2013 GRC Lites champion Joni Wiman and 2012 K&N Pro Series West Rookie of the Year and K&N East veteran Austin Dyne.