Stadium Trucks Bound For Crandon

The Stadium SUPER Trucks will visit Crandon Int'l Off-Road Raceway in Wisconsin on Aug. 30 and Sept. 1. (SST Photo)
The Stadium SUPER Trucks will visit Crandon Int’l Off-Road Raceway in Wisconsin on Aug. 30 and Sept. 1. (SST Photo)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Since 1970, off-road enthusiasts have gathered over the Labor Day weekend at the Crandon Int’l Off-Road Raceway in Wisconsin for the World Championship of Off-Road racing, a closed-course event where top short-course competitors battle side-by-side in hopes to be crowned the 2013 world champion.

Stadium SUPER Trucks (SST) will return to Crandon where the public got its first glimpse of SST in 2012. SST will headline the opening events for the weekend; Round No. 9 of competition for the Stadium SUPER Trucks Series will take place at 6:30 p.m. CDT on Aug. 30.

Over the holiday weekend, Off-Road fans will see plenty of racing action and thrills. Round No. 10 will take place Sunday, Sept. 1 at 3 p.m. CDT just prior to the start of the AMSOIL Cup Race, the final event of the weekend.

“Having Rounds No. 9 and 10 at Crandon is a natural fit. It’s the first place we introduced the SST trucks and after the great response in 2012 it is only fitting to showcase 2 rounds of racing,” stated Robby Gordon.

Since debuting April 6 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., SST has run eight points races in two countries (USA and Canada). Five of the rounds were held in stadiums like the famed Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego and the Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis on courses built specifically for the SST’s performance on asphalt and dirt. SST made their Indy Car debut at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach in April and most recently held two events at the Honda Indy Toronto.

Eight rounds of competition have produced four different main event winners. Points leader Rob MacCachren leads the way with three wins, followed by Justin Lofton and Robby Gordon tied with two each and rookie driver Sheldon Creed capturing one win.