SCORE Int’l Honors Top Desert Racers


EL CAJON, Calif. — BFGoodrich Tires, Carlos ‘Apdaly’ Lopez, Frank DeAngelo and brothers Jeff and Rick Geiser were among the major winners Saturday night as SCORE International held its annual SCORE Awards Night gala at the SCORE Tech facility.

SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year awards were presented in 14 categories along with the 31 winners of the Red Kap SCORE Milestone Awards as well as the overall and class point champions of the four-race 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship. Also honored for the first time were the nine winners of the SCORE Triple Crown of Baja, presented by BFGoodrich Tires.

In front of an enthusiastic crowd of over 400, the evening was also a celebration of 43 years of SCORE championship desert racing.  Following the lengthy salute to the stars of the 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship, SCORE owner Roger Norman summarized his fourth year as SCORE’s CEO and President.

“We want to sincerely acknowledge the support, assistance and sacrifices made by family members, friends and sponsors–because without their support, the accomplishments of our racers in the series would not have been possible,” commented Norman. “Becoming a SCORE overall or class point champion, winning a coveted SCORE Off-Roadsman Award, SCORE Milestone Award or the SCORE Triple Crown of Baja is an achievement of the highest degree in our beloved sport.”

Legendary motorsports executive Frank DeAngelo was selected the 2016 SCORE Person of the Year. The Executive Director of Motorsports and Client Relations for Jackson Marketing, Motorsports and Events in Greenville, S.C., the vastly popular DeAngelo was voted into the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2013.

DeAngelo has spent 38 years being involved with SCORE Baja races first working with BFGoodrich Tires and later as the liaison for Jackson for their contract with BFGoodrich Tires off-road program.

BFGoodrich Tires, the official tire of SCORE for 41 years, received two awards. BFGoodrich Tires was honored as the SCORE Contingency Company of the year for the 25th time as well as being voted the SCORE Pit Support Team of the Year for the 27th time.

Helping SCORE celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic SCORE Baja 1000 in November, BFGoodrich Tires Director of Motorsports Chris Baker announced a special contingency prize of $50,000 to a BFGoodrich Tires driver that has the fastest overall time in the race. BFGoodrich Tires has been the choice of 28 over the 49 overall winners of the legendary Granddaddy of all Desert Races.

The SCORE Off-Roadsman awards were determined by online vote of SCORE members as well as the general public. Among the other honorees were the top point leaders from the four-race 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series.

With very tight voting in most categories, Chad Broughton, Scotts Valley, Calif. was selected as the 2016 SCORE Rookie of the Year after his sterling first season in the Trophy Truck Spec division.

Broughton, just 21 years old, won the very-competitive Trophy Truck Spec. In his rookie season in the class, Broughton finished on the podium in all four races, winning his class in the season-opening SCORE San Felipe 250 while finishing second, third and second in the other three 2016 races.

To be eligible for the award, the racer must compete in his first full season in a class. The talented Broughton has now won four SCORE class point championships. He won Class 20 (motorcycles under 125cc) twice (2012 and 2013) as well as Class 3000 (Class 7-2, Unlimited mini-truck, 2.2/2.4-Liter Ecotec engine) in 2015.

Jeff Geiser, co-owner of Geiser Brothers of Phoenix with his brother Rick, was voted as the SCORE Mechanic of the Year for his work with RPM Racing, of Bristol, Tenn., which fields five vehicles in the SCORE World Desert Championship.

Rick Geiser was voted the SCORE Team Manager of the Year for his work helping coordinate the racing efforts of RPM Racing. This was the second straight year that Rick Geiser has won this award.

Honored for the first time were the nine all-time winners of the SCORE Triple Crown of Baja, presented by BFGoodrich Tires. The award honors the individuals who have won the overall title at the three traditional SCORE Baja races—the SCORE San Felipe 250, the SCORE Baja 500 and the SCORE Baja 1000.