Herbst & Roeseler Rule HDRA Reno 500

Tim Herbst and xxxx won the HDRA Reno 500 off-road race. (Art Eugenio photo)
Tim Herbst and Larry Roeseler won the HDRA Reno 500 off-road race. (Art Eugenio photo)

RENO, Nev. — Extending their World Championship point lead even further, desert racing veterans Tim Herbst and Larry Roeseler powered by the young guns of the sport to capture the overall and Trophy Truck victory at the second annual Eldorado HDRA Reno 500 at the Tahoe Reno Motorplex.

With the 405-mile race run as five laps over a rock-strewn 81-mile loop, Roeseler drove the first three laps and Tim Herbst the last two as together they completed the race in nine hours, 25 minutes and 10 seconds, averaging 43.0 mph in the No. 19 Monster Energy Terrible Herbst Motorsports Ford F-150.

The veteran Herbst, 50, the all-time winningest SCORE Trophy Truck driver with 11 career wins in the SCORE Desert Series, and Roeseler, 56, who has three career SCORE Trophy Truck victories, started third in the race, took the lead physically and on corrected time on the first lap and held off the charge of 20-year old Justin Davis, who finished second in the No. 85 Green Army Motorsports Ford F-150 in 9:26:40. On the last lap Davis closed the gap from 8:20 to 1:30 but Tim Herbst held Davis off to earn the victory. Davis won the last 2013 HDRA race in Ridgecrest, Calif., with Herbst/Roeseler second.

Running at overlapping times, with viewing from the same spectator area on a large plateau, the Eldorado HDRA Reno 500 for cars and trucks ran concurrently on different race courses as the AMA Reno Extreme for motorcycles.

Entries from 13 U.S. States as well as Columbia, Mexico and New Zealand raced in 15 classes for race cars and race trucks competed

“We’re a team of dinosaurs and it has been 10 years since Terrible Herbst Motorsports has won a Trophy Truck race and gotten an overall,” said Tim Herbst. “Our team doesn’t give up. Justin (Davis) is a great young racer and we were just pushing hard and trying to keep the wheels on the truck. It doesn’t exactly feel like our first Trophy Truck win, but the team earned it and it feels pretty darn good. Larry (Roeseller) gave us a big lead after his three laps (6:59) and fortunately we were able to hold off the youngster this time.”

Mexico’s Juan C. Lopez finished third overall and in Trophy Truck, driving the No. 18 Speed Energy RPM Racing Chevy Silverado to a time of 9:47:10 at an average speed of 42.9 mph.

B.J. Baldwin and T.J. Flores, who were the fast qualifiers in the race and started first, fell back to eighth place after the first lap but came back to finish fourth overall and in Trophy Truck with a time of 9:55:13 while averaging in the No. 97 Monster Energy Baldwin Motorsports Chevy Silverado.

Completing the top five overall and fifth in Trophy Truck was Sergio Salgado in a time of 10:32:07 in the No. 88 Ford Raptor.

In the unlimited Class 1 for open-wheel desert race cars, Richard Boyle won for the second straight race in his Jimco-Chevy and finished 11th overall while earning the victory in Class 10 and finishing 12th overall was the team of Peter Hajas/Kevin Selchow in a Kreger-Chevy.

In Class 5/1600 for VW Baja Bugs, the team of Donald Harper/Guy Savedra/Steve Fuentes, came from behind on the final lap to pull out their class win.

Other class winners included Lucas Knecht (Class 1/2-1600, Custom-VW), Josh Quintero (Class 7/7200, Ford Raptor), James Burman (Class 7SX, Ford Ranger), Ryan Frisby (Class 3000, Fusion-Chevy) and Clyde Stacy (Trophy Truck Spec, Chevy Colorado). Stacy was seventh overall and Quintero was ninth overall.

The fastest sportsman finisher was Los Angeles Lakers’ owner Johnny Buss, (SPT Baja Challenge, BTC-Subaru).