6-Race SCORE World Desert Championship


SAN DIEGO — Merging the two desert racing organizations that he owns, Roger Norman has announced the groundbreaking SCORE World Desert Championship, commencing in 2014 with a six-race series that will include all of the car, truck, motorcycle and ATV classes in Mexico and the United States.

Citing a desire to simplify the two series and make the overall championship series more appealing to national and international television and traditional media, merged into SCORE International will be Norman’s two-year old High Desert Racing Ass’n.

Preparing to celebrate its 41st year as the world’s foremost desert racing sanctioning body, SCORE International announced its 2014 schedule, which will consist of the three major desert races held on Mexico’s majestic Baja Peninsula along with three additional races being held in the USA. All classes will race in all races and five of the six best finishes will count toward SCORE World Desert Championship point titles.

“This merger is the best of both worlds for us as we are able to combine SCORE and HDRA into the new SCORE World Desert Championship series of six races for all of our classes with spectacular racing on both sides of the border,” said Roger Norman, CEO and President of SCORE International. “Mexican races are the cornerstone of SCORE and it will be a tremendous benefit to our sport to introduce one super series that will help bring the sport and SCORE to an entire new level.”

Norman continued, “We currently have one race (Sept. 25-28) listed with the location in Southern California to be announced shortly as we are finalizing the details for that race weekend. For the racers, their best five finishes will count in the final season point standings.”

Launching the new SCORE World Desert Championship schedule will be the first of the three original SCORE Baja races — the 28th Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250, Feb. 27-March 2 in San Felipe.

Round two will be back in the USA with the 2nd SCORE Imperial Valley 250 in Plaster City, Calif. April 25-27. This event will also conclude the 2013 HDRA season after next week’s race in Moapa, Nevada was cancelled.

Returning to Mexico, round three will be the 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 500 in Ensenada on June 5-8.

Northern Nevada will host Round 4 of the series with the third SCORE Reno 500 at the Tahoe Reno Motorplex to be held July 24-27.

Round five will be the Inaugural SCORE Desert Challenge to be finalized and the location in Southern California to be announced in the next few weeks. It will be a two-day short course-style event, patterned after the popular Laughlin race that SCORE produced for 18 years that ended in 2012.

The season will conclude Nov. 12-16 with the 47th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, the granddaddy of all desert races, which will be a peninsula run, starting in Ensenada, Baja California and finishing in La Paz, Baja California Sur.

The inaugural SCORE World Desert Championship will feature 40 Pro and seven Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, buggies, motorcycles and ATVs. All classes will run in the three SCORE Baja races like always as well as all three USA races.

2014 SCORE World Desert Championship

Schedule of Events

Date Event/Location

Feb. 27-Mar. 2 28th Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250

San Felipe, Baja California, Mexico

(one loop, Approx. 250 miles)

April 25-27 2nd SCORE Imperial Valley 250

Plaster City, California

(three laps, Approx. 249 total miles)

June 5-8 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 500

Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

(one loop, Approx. 500 miles)

July 24-27 3rd SCORE Reno 500

Tahoe Reno Motorplex-Reno, Nevada

(multi-lap, Approx. 419 total miles)

Sept. 25-28 Inaugural SCORE Desert Challenge

Location in Southern California TBA

(two-day short-course race, Approx. 125 total miles)

Nov. 12-16 47th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000

Ensenada, Baja California to La Paz, Baja California Sur

(point-to-point, Approx. 1,130 miles)



Previous articleMAVTV Adds 16 Affiliates
Next articleLate Model Knoxville Nationals This Weekend
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.