18 States & 7 Countries Among Baja 1000 Entries


ENSENADA, Mexico — Early entries for November’s 52nd SCORE Baja 1000, the ‘Granddaddy of All Desert Races’, have come from 18 states and seven countries.

The final round of the four-race SCORE World Desert Championship will start and finish in the heart of Baja California, Mexico, with race-week festivities and the race held Nov. 19-24.

The SCORE Baja 1000 is the most iconic, oldest, prestigious, toughest and longest continuously-held desert race in the world.

The race will be televised on a delayed basis as a one-hour special on ABC TV’s World of X Games programming.

Over 250 vehicles are expected at the start line with racers from over 30 U.S. states and as many as 20 countries anticipated.

Included in the first 43 official entries of the more than 250 anticipated for this year’s renewal of the world’s most iconic desert race are racers from 18 U.S. States and seven countries.

U.S. States represented in the field of competitors to date are from Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Washington.

Besides the United States and host Mexico, countries represented to date in the total entry field are from Canada, Italy, Japan, Norway and Spain.

Long-time SCORE sponsor BFGoodrich Tires has posted a $40,000 contingency bonus for the overall four-wheel winner to help commemorate the renewal of the legendary event.

This year’s SCORE Baja 1000 will be a loop race of 799.1 miles in the northern state of Mexico’s majestic Baja California peninsula.

It will start for the 45th time and finish for the 26th time in Ensenada and the race is annually the finale of the four-race SCORE World Desert Championship, which has been held exclusively for the past four years in Baja California.

The trio of Justin Morgan, Mark Samuels and Justin Jones is the defending champion team of the SCORE Baja 1000.