Lucas Oil Off Road Series Kicks Off

The Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series kicks off this weekend in Chandler, Ariz.
The Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series kicks off this weekend in Chandler, Ariz.

CHANDLER, Ariz. — The kickoff for the 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series takes to the air this weekend at Firebird Int’l Raceway in the General Tire Arizona National presented by Optima Batteries.

It is an all-new season with many exciting changes in drivers, teams and sponsors. With other types of motorsports seeing substantial reductions in fan attendance and team participation, the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series is experiencing dramatic increases in team entries, fan attendance, sponsor involvement and television coverage, making it arguably the fastest growing motorsport in the United States today.

Leading the way in growth is the Pro Lite class, featuring some of the closest competition of the entire series. In 2011, Brian Deegan won the championship by a mere 9 points after a season-long battle with Chris Brandt. For 2012, the Pro Lite field has almost doubled in size, guaranteeing even more intense competition.

Drivers moving up to the class, include the multi-time UTV Champ Chad George, King of the Hammers winner Shannon Campbell, Justin Smith and X Games Gold Medal Winner Nick Baumgartner.

In the premiere Pro 4 class, 2011 Champion Carl Renezeder will be defending his title against a very talented field including Kyle LeDuc, Josh Merrell, Travis Coyne, Todd LeDuc and the patriarch of the LeDuc clan, Curt. Moving up to the Pro 4 ranks this season is the 2011 SR1 UTV Champion, Corry Weller, the first female Champion in the history of Lucas Off Road racing.

Pro 2 is shaping up to be a battle royale again this year. Brian Deegan took the title last year, but an all-star roster of drivers will be gunning to take the title away from the Metal Mulisha General. The diverse field includes: seven-time Supercross Champion, Jeremy McGrath, Baja legend Rob MacCachren, X-Games star Jeremy Twitch Stenberg, former champion Carl Renezeder, Rodrigo Ampudia, Jeff Geiser, Robby Woods, and Greg Adler just to name a few.

The Pro Buggy ranks are also stacked with talent. Mike Porter, last year’s champion returns to defend his number one plate from the likes of former class champ, Cameron Steele.

BREAKING NEWS: SPEED SPORT is back in print with a new monthly format!
Subscribe for just $24.95. Special offer for former subscribers.