Lucas Off Road Season Begins In Chandler


CHANDLER, Ariz. – The Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series kicked off the 2014 season Saturday at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, with Kyle LeDuc leading the winners list in the Pro 4 Unlimited category.

The start to the Pro 4 Unlimited event was a bit scary as Todd LeDuc’s truck broke in the first corner after starting on the front row. As he rolled through the corner and onto the next straight while trying to hold his line, several near-collisions were avoided, including one in which Rob MacCachren came off the jump out of turn one and appeared to go right over the top of Todd LeDuc. Luckily Todd LeDuc escaped the early breakage safely.

Up front Greg Adler grabbed the early lead in his No. 10 ProComp/G2 Ford, followed by Ricky Johnson, Kyle LeDuc, MacCachren and Eric Barron. On lap three Kyle LeDuc got by Johnson between turns two and three and moved his No. 99 Monster Energy/Toyo Tires Ford up to second spot in the process.

The end of that lap saw a full course caution, and when racing resumed, the drivers in the top five held their positions on the restart lap. On lap six Carl Renezeder forced Barron wide at turn two to move into fifth spot. On the following lap Adler bicycled at turn three and dropped back several positions, losing the lead to Kyle LeDuc in the process.

Seconds later Johnson made an uncharacteristic error when he caught an outside edge while running the low line in the either/or section. In a weird incident, Johnson spiraled over and rolled, with Renezeder then spinning out in the high line right behind him. Both drivers were able to continue, but a full course caution came out before racing resumed for everyone.

When the green flag came back out, it was now Kyle LeDuc out front, with MacCachren second, Brandon Bailey third, Barron fourth and Corry Weller fifth. Adler got by Weller and back into the top five on the restart lap. On the next lap Bailey lost control coming through the either/or section and was forced to drop off the low line and down onto the kart track.

Bailey came back on track in sixth but his mistake moved Barron up to third, Adler to fourth and Johnson to fifth. Johnson rounded up Adler two laps later, and on lap 14 Barron got by MacCachren to take over second. MacCachren was starting to look a bit off the pace and Johnson got by him on lap 17 to move up to third, but from there, the top five drivers held their positions.

Up front, Kyle LeDuc was the big winner ahead of Barron, Johnson, MacCachren and Adler.

Other class winners Saturday at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park were Rob MacCachren (Pro 2 Unlimited), Brian Deegan (Pro Lite Unlimited), Garrett George (Pro Buggy Unlimited) and Cole Mamer (Modified Kart).