LeDuc, Menzies Win At Lake Elsinore


LAKE ELSINORE, Calif. – After a wild Friday night at Lake Elsinore Motorsports Park last night, the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series presented by GEICO was back at it Saturday for Round 4 of the 2014 championship.

The night certainly had some notable crashes, including those involving Travis Pastrana and Eric Barron, and while Pastrana came away with some broken bones and a concussion, Barron – who endured one of the worst crashes in the series’ history – walked away with just a broken pinkie finger.

Kyle LeDuc and Bryce Menzies walked away with the biggest trophies.

Pro 4 Unlimited

The final race of the weekend was Pro 4 Unlimited, and in a tremendous stroke of good fortune, Eric Barron was back out on track thanks to fellow competitor Jerry Daugherty. After Barron’s truck was burned badly in his horrific crash Friday night, Daugherty stepped in and handed Barron his backup truck for the night.

Kyle LeDuc was the most fortunate driver of the night, but it wasn’t because of a good break. LeDuc was simply the fastest man on the track in the Pro 4 event.

LeDuc took the early lead in his #99 Monster Energy/Toyo Tires Ford, ahead of Carl Renezeder, Rob MacCachren, Ricky Johnson and Doug Fortin.

By lap 15, Renezeder was starting to make a little headway on LeDuc, after he had built up a sizable advantage in the early going. Renezeder closed in quickly over the final three laps, and though he was still a bit too far back to make a major move on LeDuc, he drove hard into the final corner to try and make something happen.

Unfortunately for Renezeder, something did happen: his steering broke. Coming out of the corner, Renezeder stood on the gas, and his truck went straight ahead, sending him veering towards the catch fence. Renezeder was able to get on the brakes, but after nosing against the wall, he suffered a slow rollover.

LeDuc got his second win in as many races, making him the second driver to sweep the weekend in his respective class. Johnson came home second. MacCachren rounded out the podium in third.

Pro 2 Unlimited

The first Pro class race of the night was Pro 2 Unlimited. As was the case on Friday, Brian Deegan put his No. 38 Rockstar/Makita Ford straight into the lead at the start. Bryce Menzies, Jeremy McGrath, Rob MacCachren, and Carl Renezeder ran right behind him early on. Lap two saw an early full course caution after Greg Adler had a rollover in turn three, and when racing resumed, the running order up front stayed the same.

It didn’t stay that way for long.

On lap 16, Deegan – who had looked untouchable in the lead early – had Menzies alongside him going up the step up to turn two in a bid for the lead. Deegan lost the top spot momentarily, then battled back by to re-gain the lead at turn three. He wasn’t able to hold it, however. Menzies picked up the win in his No. 7 Red Bull/GoPro Ford. Deegan was second, with Renezeder third, MacCachren fourth and Robby Woods fifth.

After dominating early in Pro 2 Unlimited, Brian Deegan was back out front again at the end of the first lap in Pro Lite Unlimited competition. Behind Deegan’s #38 Rockstar/Makita Ford, Sheldon Creed ran second with Myles Cheek third, Bradley Morris fourth, and Jimmy Fishback fifth in the early stages of the race.

Deegan made sure he didn’t lose again.

He pulled away from the field and grabbed the win ahead of Bradley Morris, R.J. Anderson, Sheldon Creed and Ryan Beat. Anderson, however, was handed a penalty for rough driving after multiple warnings. The penalty promoted Creed to third, Beat to fourth and Gavin Harlien to fifth.

Dylan Plemons, in the No. 424 BND Performance/PAC Racing Springs kart, held on to win the Junior 2 Kart event.

Ricky Gutierrez, in the No. 1 G Brothers/Lone Kid Racing machine, pulled away from the field to win the Junior 1 Kart race.

Brock Heger in the No. 511 Spy/DASA entry captured the win in the modified kart event.

Chad George backed up his first career Pro Buggy Unlimited win in the national series on Friday, with another victory Saturday. Second went to Dave Mason Jr., third to Bradley Morris, fourth to Garrett George, and fifth to Lonny Hart.