Hard Chargers Thrive At Glen Helen

The action was fierce at Glen Helen. (Lucas Oil Off Road photo)
The action was fierce at Glen Helen. (Lucas Oil Off Road photo)
The action was fierce at Glen Helen. (Lucas Oil Off Road photo)

SAN BERNARDINO, Calif. – After a lengthy six-week break, the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, presented by GEICO, was back at it once again on Friday with an eventful slate of action at Glen Helen Raceway.

Modified Kart

The first race of the weekend was Modified Kart, and after a big opening lap pile-up in turn two forced a full restart of the race, it was Broc Dickerson who shot into the early lead. Cole Mamer was in hot pursuit, as were Eliott Watson, Christopher Polvoorde and Brock Heger.

Dickerson and Mamer were quickly pulling open a gap over their competitors, and after pressuring him for a short while, Mamer passed Dickerson with a stronger run around the inside line of whoops through turn six. Mamer assumed the lead, and started to pull clear by lap four, only to then come to a stop at turn four on the next lap. Just as everything had been looking good for Mamer, his race suddenly ended in mechanical failure, and so Dickerson re-took the lead.

Dickerson was still out in front at the Competition Yellow, with Watson second, Polvoorde third, Heger fourth, and Ryan Carey fifth. In the second half, the competition amongst the top five was very evenly matched, as only Dickerson was able to make any kind of noticeable ground on those behind him.

At that, Dickerson only managed to gain a few truck lengths, which he then gave back somewhat on the final lap as he appeared to be a bit cautious in ensuring that he made it through the track’s big ruts without incident. At the stripe, Dickerson was the big winner for the first time in Modified Kart- congratulations Broc! Second went to Watson, third to Polvoorde, fourth to Heger, and fifth to Carey.

Pro 4 Unlimited

Kicking off things on the full-length track tonight were the Pro 4 Unlimiteds, and with a $2,500 bounty on offer to anyone who can beat Kyle LeDuc this weekend, there was extra incentive for everyone, including LeDuc (who could take home the cash if nobody can beat him this weekend), to charge hard (as if they needed any extra motivation). Not surprisingly, LeDuc ran out front at the end of lap one, with Carl Renezeder, Rob MacCachren, Doug Fortin, and Greg Adler already running a few lengths behind.

The top five drivers held their positions over the first six laps, but a bad bicycle by Adler at turn five on lap seven finally shook things up a bit, as he dropped to seventh, while Todd LeDuc moved up to fifth. On the next lap, Ricky Johnson got by Todd on the inside at turn three, and that moved him up to fifth.

Up front, MacCachren just closed in a bit on Kyle LeDuc on the penultimate lap, but it appeared as though LeDuc had pace to cover any challengers, as well as some extra beyond that, and he came home the winner for the eighth time this season. MacCachren was second, with Fortin rounding out the podium. Johnson charged hard from last on the grid to get fourth, and fifth was Todd LeDuc.

Pro Buggy Unlimited

With his hometown fans out in force here tonight, it was Garrett George who shot into the early lead, ahead of Steve Greinke, Chad George, Sterling Cling, and Larry Job. At the end of the third lap, a full course yellow was thrown for an incident out in turn four, and when racing resumed on lap five, it was Eric Fitch who moved up to fifth. After that, the running order in the top five stayed the same for several laps, with the leading George just managing to open up a little gap on lap nine.

Greinke closed that gap down on the next lap, and the two frontrunners then proceeded to make a little ground on the points leader Chad George. The running order stayed the same as the laps wound down, with the only real fight being between Cling and Fitch for fourth spot.

Fitch was all over Cling on laps 13 and 14, but on the final lap, an error on Fitch’s part dropped him back a few spots, leaving Cling with some breathing room, and moving Dave Mason Jr. up to fifth. Out front, an elated Garrett George had a great return to form as he picked up a solid win, with Greinke taking second, in perhaps his most competitive run of the season. Chad George rounded out the podium, thus keeping his season-long podium streak alive; Cling was fourth and Mason Jr. was fifth.

Pro Lite Unlimited

In Pro Lite Unlimited, it was front row starters RJ Anderson and Casey Currie who ran one-two at the end of lap one, ahead of Ryan Beat in third, Kyle Hart in third, and Jimmy Fishback in fifth. On lap three, a spin in turn three dropped Beat back to eleventh spot, and that elevated Hart to third, Fishback to fourth, and Brian Deegan fifth.