Eventful Friday at Lake Elsinore


LAKE ELSINORE, Calif. – The Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series presented by GEICO entered its second racing weekend at the Lake Elsinore Motorsports Park, and had an eventful Friday night.

With the addition of action sports stars Travis Pastrana and Tanner Foust to the weekend’s Pro 2 Unlimited lineup, there was an extra aura of excitement surrounding one of the night’s marquee races.

Coming into the very first corner, Pastrana dipped his nose too low off the first jump, caught, and rolled hard, ending his race, and forcing a full restart of the race. On that restart, Brian Deegan took the lead in his #38 Rockstar/Makita Ford, and never looked back.

Deegan sped to the victory with Robby Woods finishing second, Carl Renezeder third, Greg Adler fourth, and Jeremy McGrath fifth.

Kyle LeDuc rallied from fourth after the first lap to score the win in Pro 4 Unlimited competition. He had to dodge plenty of incidents to get there, however.

Eric Barron, Ricky Johnson and Rob MacCachren were the race’s early leaders, but LeDuc made his way up to second in just five laps.

LeDuc quickly closed in on Barron after eight laps.  On lap twelve, things got ugly. As Barron and LeDuc exited turn four, the two flew side-by-side off the jump after the corner, and Barron flew to the right side of the track. When he landed, he hit the cushion of dirt at the edge of the track. The awkward landing sent Barron into a violent barrel roll, one which carried him up the face of the tabletop jump at the start/finish line and into the air. Barron’s truck then burst into a massive fire, but Barron exited the truck without major injury.

The race went to red flag conditions for a good chunk of time, but when racing resumed, LeDuc went unchallenged to victory ahead of MacCachren, Adler, Todd LeDuc and Bailey.

Travis PeCoy led wire to wire in a very strong run to take the Modified Kart win.

Chad George was the  Pro Buggy Unlimited winner in his #42 Mickey Thompson/Redline Performance Funco machine.

After a top-five run in Pro Buggy Unlimited, Bradley Morris was right back it in Pro Lite Unlimited. Morris was very strong throughout the race en route to scoring the win ahead of Sheldon Creed, Casey Currie, Jimmy Fishback and Aaron Daugherty.