Cindric Secures Xfinity Daytona Road Course Pole

Austin Cindric leads the pack Saturday at Road America. (Stacy Revere/Getty Images Photo)
Austin Cindric (22), shown here at Road America last weekend, will start from the pole during Saturday's NASCAR Xfinity Series race at the Daytona Int'l Speedway road course. (Stacy Revere/Getty Images Photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – Austin Cindric has claimed the pole for Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series race on the Daytona Int’l Speedway road course.

Cindric, the NASCAR Xfinity Series points leader, was awarded the pole based on NASCAR’s new competition-based formula. The new formula utilizes a driver’s finishing position from the most recent race (weighted at 50%), owner points position (35%) and the fastest lap from the previous race (15%).

This is the first time NASCAR has utilized this new formula. NASCAR most recently used a random draw to set starting fields in its three national divisions following the sport’s return to competition amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cindric will be joined on the front row for Saturday’s race by Stewart-Haas Racing driver Chase Briscoe. JR Motorsports driver Noah Gragson is slated to start third, followed by Kaulig Racing’s Ross Chastain.

The remainder of the top-10 includes Justin Haley, road course expert Andy Lally, Michael Annett, Ryan Sieg, Harrison Burton and A.J. Allmendinger.

UNOH 188 Starting Lineup

1. Austin Cindric
2. Chase Briscoe
3. Noah Gragson
4. Ross Chastain
5. Justin Haley
6. Andy Lally
7. Michael Annett
8. Ryan Sieg
9. Harrison Burton
10. A.J. Allmendinger
11. Brandon Jones
12. Brandon Brown
13. Josh Williams
14. Riley Herbst
15. Preston Pardus
16. Alex Labbe
17. Justin Allgaier
18. Josh Bilicki
19. Jeremy Clements
20. Stephen Leicht
21. Mike Wallace
22. Tommy Joe Martins
23. Daniel Hemric
24. Jesse Little
25. Joe Graf Jr.
26. Kyle Weatherman
27. Myatt Snider
28. Jeffrey Earnhardt
29. Scott Heckert
30. Earl Bamber
31. Kody Vanderwal
32. Jade Buford
33. B.J. McLeod
34. Bayley Currey
35. Chad Finchum
36. Matt Mills
37. Brandon Gdovic
38. Harold Crooms