Ambrose Enters Watkins Glen NNS Event

Marcos Ambrose has decided to return home to Australia in 2015 and will not race with Richard Petty Motorsports next year. (HHP/Christa L. Thomas Photo)
Marcos Ambrose will race in Saturday's NASCAR Nationwide Series event at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) Int'l. (HHP/Christa L. Thomas Photo)
Marcos Ambrose will race in Saturday’s NASCAR Nationwide Series event at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) Int’l. (HHP/Christa L. Thomas Photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – Five-time Watkins Glen Int’l race winner Marcos Ambrose will double down this weekend at the famed New York road course.

With support from STANLEY, Richard Petty Motorsports (RPM) will enter Ambrose in the No. 09 Stanley Racing Ford in Saturday’s Nationwide Series Zippo 200. Ambrose is a three-time winner of the event, winning consecutive races from 2008-2010. Ambrose will then compete in his familiar No. 9 Stanley Racing Ford on Sunday looking for his third Sprint Cup Series win at the track.

Veteran engineer Scott McDougall will be the crew chief for Ambrose during Saturday’s headliner event. The Stanley Racing Sprint Cup pit crew will also pull double duty with Ambrose and service the Nationwide Series car on Saturday.

“I love going to Watkins Glen and competing there,” Ambrose said. “I am really thankful to Stanley for allowing me the opportunity to race in the Nationwide Series and giving me another opportunity to win there. We have had a good record in this race and at this track. I’d love to win again. It will also give me and my pit crew more time on the track as we hope to sweep the weekend.”

Ambrose has four Nationwide Series starts at Watkins Glen and has collected three wins while starting six Sprint Cup Series races at the track and winning twice. Ambrose is known as one of the best NASCAR drivers to ever race at Watkins Glen Int’l.

Ambrose will be a teammate to Dakoda Armstrong on Saturday who will continue to race the No. 43 Winfield Ford.

Previous articlePHOTOS: NASCAR Trucks At Pocono
Next article16-Year-Old Casey Set For IMSA Debut is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.