GMS Racing Assigns Crew Chiefs & Truck Numbers

GMS Racing Assigns
Jeff Stankewicz will continue as crew chief for Sheldon Creed at GMS Racing next season. (Jacob Seelman photo)

STATESVILLE, N.C. – GMS Racing announced its crew chief and truck number lineup for the team’s four full-time NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series entries on Friday.

Chad Norris has been named crew chief for Brett Moffitt and the No. 23 Chevrolet team, while Chad Walter will lead Tyler Ankrum and the No. 26 team.

Kevin “Bono” Manion will call the shots for Zane Smith with the No. 21 entry, and Jeff Stankiewicz will remain as the crew chief for the No. 2 team piloted by Sheldon Creed.

Norris has been with the Statesville, N.C., organization for two years. He led GMS Racing to its first NASCAR Xfinity Series win with Spencer Gallagher at Talladega Superspeedway in 2018. The Iowa native has experience in all three NASCAR Series and has called the shots for many successful drivers like Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth and Mark Martin.

Most of Norris’ experience came in the Xfinity Series, where has called the shots for 23 different drivers and accumulated four wins, 39 top-fives, 132 top-10s and five poles.

Walter, who served as an engineer for Ankrum last year, will step up to lead the team.

Walter is no stranger to the crew chief role, serving as a crew chief in seven Cup Series and 208 Xfinity Series events since 2005 for Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and many others.

In 208 Xfinity Series starts, Walter earned five wins, 42 top-fives, 101 top-10s and eight poles.

Manion has called the shots atop the pit box for many notable NASCAR drivers, including Dale Earnhardt Jr., Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch.

A crew chief in all three NASCAR national series, Manion has accumulated five Cup Series wins, 27 top-fives, 65 top-10’s, and 10 poles, as well as 15 Xfinity Series wins, 36 top-fives, 53 top-10’s, and nine poles in that series.

Manion earned two Xfinity Series championships with Martin Truex Jr. in 2004 and 2005. He also has four Gander Trucks wins, 16 top-fives, 28 top-10’s and one Truck Series pole.

Stankiewicz will remain as crew chief for Sheldon Creed after the team hired him on partway through the 2019 season. The duo accumulated seven starts, two top-fives, four top-10s, and led 36 laps.

In 2018, Creed won four races and earned 11 top-five, 12 top-10 finishes and three poles with Stankiewicz atop the pit box en route to the 2018 ARCA championship.

Stankiewicz was previously with GMS Racing from 2015-2017 and led the team to an ARCA Menards Series championship in 2015 with Grant Enfinger.

“All four of our teams have veteran crew chiefs to lead the way and I don’t think we could get a better group,” said Mike Beam, president of GMS Racing. “All of them have the knowledge and experience to lead each of their teams to success this year and I am excited to see what they can do.”