Austin Hill Nabs Pole For Truck Series Semifinal

Austin Hill Nabs
Austin Hill celebrates with the pole award Friday at ISM Raceway. (Toyota Racing photo)

AVONDALE, Ariz. – Seeking to secure a spot in the Championship 4, Austin Hill secured the pole for Friday night’s Lucas Oil 150 during qualifying at Arizona’s ISM Raceway.

Hill took down his third-career NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series pole with a lap of 27.021 seconds (133.230 mph) around the one-mile D-shaped oval in the No. 16 AISIN Group Toyota Tundra.

The Winston, Ga., native is seeking his fourth victory of the season, a win that would move him into the championship race at Homestead-Miami (Fla.) Speedway next weekend with a shot at the title.

“I knew that our mock run was really good, but after seeing everyone slipping and sliding around out there, I just tried to hit my marks the best I could,” Hill said. “I didn’t think it was that good of a lap, honestly, because I came off turn two and it was chattering the front tires pretty bad. The guys did a heck of a job adjusting on it, though, and I think we really picked up a lot (of time) in turns three and four.

“That’s the best the truck has felt in turns three and four all day, and now we’re starting on the pole, so we just have to go and finish it off here to go on to Homestead.”

Fellow playoff contender Stewart Friesen will join Hill on the front row, with non-playoff drivers Sheldon Creed and Ben Rhodes sharing the second row of the starting grid.

Ty Majeski, making his Truck Series debut, completed the top five qualifiers.

Chandler Smith, Brandon Jones, Grant Enfinger, Todd Gilliland and Matt Crafton fill out the front five rows. Tyler Ankrum starts lowest among the six playoff contenders after qualifying 15th.

The Lucas Oil 150 takes the green flag at 8:30 p.m. ET, with live coverage on FOX Sports 1, the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90.

STARTING LINEUP: NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series; ISM Raceway; Nov. 8, 2019

  1. Austin Hill
  2. Stewart Friesen
  3. Sheldon Creed
  4. Ben Rhodes
  5. Ty Majeski
  6. Chandler Smith
  7. Brandon Jones
  8. Grant Enfinger
  9. Todd Gilliland
  10. Matt Crafton
  11. Johnny Sauter
  12. Brett Moffitt
  13. Anthony Alfredo
  14. Ross Chastain
  15. Tyler Ankrum
  16. Dylan Lupton
  17. Carson Hocevar
  18. Tyler Dippel
  19. Gus Dean
  20. Tanner Gray
  21. Sam Mayer
  22. John Hunter Nemechek
  23. Derek Kraus
  24. Jordan Anderson
  25. Austin Wayne Self
  26. Joe Nemechek
  27. Danny Bohn
  28. Colby Howard
  29. Kyle Plott
  30. Natalie Decker
  31. Carson Ware
  32. Harrison Burton

DNQ: Jesse Little, Jennifer Jo Cobb