Wallace Wins, Gresham Wears Crown

Max Gresham accepts the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship from NASCAR President Mike Helton in 2011 Dover (Del.) Int'l Speedway. (Getty Images photo)
Max Gresham accepts the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship from NASCAR President Mike Helton Friday afternoon at Dover (Del.) Int'l Speedway. (Getty Images photo)

DOVER, Del. — Max Gresham wrapped up his first championship in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East with a third-place finish in the Dover 150 at Dover Int’l Speedway on Friday.

While the 18-year-old Gresham was securing the title, Darrell Wallace, Jr., 17, scored his third win of the season and fifth of his career with a victory on the high-banked, one-mile concrete oval.

It marked Wallace’s first win at the Monster Mile and coupled with a 21st-place finish for the other title contender Brett Moffitt, moved him into second in the final standings. Wallace won the race’s pole award in Thursday’s qualifying.

Gresham, from Griffin, Ga., was in his second season driving the No. 18 Live Oak Plantation Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing. He took the championship by 63 points over Wallace and 83 over Moffitt. It marks the second series title for JGR, following Joey Logano’s in 2007.

Moffitt cut a tire and hit the wall while leading with four laps remaining in a quest for his third straight win at Dover. At the time, Gresham was running third and nursing a six-point lead over Moffitt in the championship standings. Moffitt’s accident prompted a green-white-checkered finish that stretched the race to 152 laps.

Eddie MacDonald and rookie Andrew Smith rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Darrell Wallace, Jr., Dale Quarterley, Max Gresham, Eddie MacDonald, Andrew Smith, Benny Gordon, Ryan Gifford, Brandon McReynolds, Dylan Presnell, Jeff Anton, Brandon Gdovic, Ben Kennedy, Michael Cherry, John Salemi, Fain Skinner, Cody Hodgson, Andrew Ranger, Derek Ramstrom, Clay Campbell, Tanner Berryhill, Brett Moffitt, Matt DiBenedetto, Alex Bowman, C.J. Faison, Brennan Newberry, Sergio Peña, Chad Boat, Rick Gdovic, Chase Elliott, Corey LaJoie.