Thorn Sticks K&N West Foes


ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Derek Thorn held on in a two-lap dash to the finish to win the NAPA Auto Parts 150 on Saturday night in the inaugural visit by the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West to NAPA Speedway.

Thorn of Lakeport, Calif., started from the seventh position and charged to the front after Dylan Kwasniewski, who earned the pole position earlier in the day, set a blistering pace in the early going.

Thorn took command on lap 87 and paced the field to the finish for his second win of the year. He had to hold off Dallas Montes, who was making his series debut, and three-time series champion Eric Holmes in a green-white-checkered finish after a late caution.

Montes —– filling in for David Mayhew, who was competing in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in Las Vegas — held on for second while Holmes crossed the line in third. Rookies Taylor Cuzick and Austin Dyne completed the top five.

Fifteen-year-old Hannah Newhouse, in her series debut, finished sixth followed by her teammate at Rich Thompson Racing and fellow rookie Braeden Havens. Point leader Greg Pursley, Kwasniewski and Carl Harr rounded out the top 10.

The finish:

Derek Thorn, Dallas Montes, Eric Holmes, Taylor Cuzick, Austin Dyne, Hannah Newhouse, Braeden Havens, Greg Pursley, Dylan Kwasniewski, Carl Harr, Kelly Admiraal, Michael Self, John Wood, Ronnie Jay, Cameron Hayley, Anthony Giannone, Billy Kann, Isaac Sherman, Daryl Harr, Jack Clarke, Ryan Philpott, Sean Guthrie.