Ron Silk Collects Loudon Modified Checkers

Ron Silk (85) races ahead of Doug Coby on Saturday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. (Dave Moulthrop Photo)
Ron Silk (85) races ahead of Doug Coby on Saturday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. (Dave Moulthrop Photo)

LOUDON, N.H. – The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Eastern Propane & Oil 100 was a reunion tour of sorts between Ron Silk and victory lane.

The driver of the No. 85 Stuart’s Automotive Chevrolet took his first checkered flag at New Hampshire Motor Speedway since 2011, marking his third trip to victory lane in Loudon.

“Go as fast as we could,” replied Silk when asked what his strategy was. “We really didn’t change the car much at the stop, and it really drove good after that. We were able to get from fifth to the lead on one of the restarts with about 15 to go, and it just worked in our favor. I’m just pumped for my guys and our whole team. We’ve been having a great year so far, and we’re just going to keep building on that.”

Silk was the race leader when the caution flag waved during an overtime restart. Because of time constraints officials were forced to declare the race official, handing Silk the victory.

“The track was pretty slick,” said Silk after his second victory of the season. “There was a lot of sliding around, and I think that’s why you saw some guys towards the back have some problems and a lot of yellows, but that’s the way it is here in July and I can’t wait to come back in September.”

Doug Coby, Chase Dowling, polesitter Jon McKennedy and Matt Swanson rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Ron Silk, Doug Coby, Chase Dowling, Jon McKennedy, Matt Swanson, Eric Goodale, Justin Bonsignore, Rob Summers, Tommy Catalano, Craig Lutz, Timmy Solomito, Andy Seuss, Sam Rameau, Blake Barney, Jeff Rocco, Kyle Ellwood, Ryan Newman, Andrew Krause, Ryan Preece, Wade Cole, Chris Pasteryak, Jimmy Blewett, Tyler Rypkema, Bobby Santos III, Max Zachem, Melissa Fifield, Bryan Dauzat, Patrick Emerling, J.B. Fortin, Anthony Nocella, Joey Mucciacciaro, Timmy Catalano, Andrew Molleur, Woody Pitkat, Todd Cooper, Calvin Carroll, Walter Sutcliffe Jr., Jacob Perry.