Kennington Clinches Title With Canadian Score


FRASERVILLE, Ontario — D.J. Kennington won it all.

Kennington capped his 2012 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 championship with a victory Saturday in the final race of the season, the Pinty’s 250 presented by Dodge, at Kawartha Speedway.

It is the second championship in three years for the 35-year-old St. Thomas, Ont., driver. And it was his record seventh win in 12 races on the season.

Kennington took the lead from pole sitter J.R. Fitzpatrick on Lap 231 and led the rest of the way. He held off runner-up Andrew Ranger and third-place Fitzpatrick over a green-white-checkered finish that pushed the race to 255 laps.

Fitzpatrick led a race-high 216 laps, losing the lead only on a cycle of pit stops and when Kennington overtook him for the race-winning pass.

Pete Shepherd III and Martin Roy rounded out the top five. Roy entered the weekend having already clinched the rookie-of-the-year honors.

Scott Steckly finished sixth, followed by Mark Dilley, Jeff Lapcevich, Donald Chisholm and L.P. Dumoulin.

Kennington took the points lead early in the season on the strength of five-straight wins and finished it off with back-to-back victories. He ended 27 points ahead of Fitzpatrick and 35 over Ranger. Steckly and Ron Beauchamp Jr. were fourth and fifth, respectively.

The finish:

D.J. Kennington, Andrew Ranger, J.R. Fitzpatrick, Pete Shepherd III, Martin Roy, Scott Steckly, Mark Dilley, Jeff Lapcevich, Donald Chisholm, L.P. Dumoulin, Ron Beauchamp Jr., Jason Hathaway, Larry Jackson, Jason White, Dave Connelly, Isabelle Tremblay, Howie Scannell Jr., Ray Courtemanche Jr., Hugo Vannini, Elie Arseneau, Max Papis, Derek White, Steve Mathews, Noel Dowler, Jarrad Whissell, Mike Scholz, Dexter Stacey, Joey McColm.