Heckert Triumphs At VIR

Scott Heckert claimed the Biscuitville 125 at VIR on Saturday. (NASCAR photo)
Scott Heckert claimed the Biscuitville 125 at VIR on Saturday. (NASCAR photo)
Scott Heckert claimed the Biscuitville 125 at VIR on Saturday. (NASCAR photo)

ALTON, Va. – Scott Heckert may want to consider petitioning for more road course races to be added to the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East calendar.

The 20-year-old Ridgefield, Connecticut, native took the lead late and survived a green-white-checkered finish for his second consecutive K&N Pro East win in the Biscuitville 125 Saturday at Virginia Int’l Raceway. It was Heckert’s second victory on a road course: He won the Bully Hill Vineyards 125 at New York’s Watkins Glen Int’l one week ago in similar fashion, with a late lap pass for the lead.

Heckert, who began the day by winning his third 21 Means 21 presented by Coors Brewing Co. Pole Award of the season, took the lead from Cameron Hayley on Lap 52 and never looked back.

Hayley was forced to settle for his fourth runner-up finish of the season. He was followed across the line by rookie Austin Hill, Gray Gaulding and rookie Kaz Grala.

Hayley led a race-high 25 laps and led the field to green on the restart following the race’s fifth caution, but Heckert was able to get by him to assume the lead for the final restart. The race was extended five extra laps to 60 by the late caution.

Matt Tifft, Brandon Jones, Jesse Little, Ryan Gifford and championship points leader Ben Rhodes completed the top 10.

Rhodes’ lead is 65 points over Hayley with two races remaining. Jones is third, 14 points back of Hayley, and two ahead of Little and seven ahead of Gaulding. Heckert moved up to eighth in points.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East will next be in action on Sept. 14 from South Carolina’s Greenville Pickens Speedway.

The finish:

Scott Heckert, Cameron Hayley, Austin Hill, Gray Gaulding, Kaz Grala, Matt Tifft, Brandon Jones, Jesse Little, Ryan Gifford, Ben Rhodes, Kenzie Ruston, Nick Drake, Brennan Newberry, Sergio Pena, Brandon Gdovic, Sam Hunt, Ronnie Bassett Jr., Cole Custer, Bryan Ortiz,  Brodie Kostecki, Mackena Bell, Dale Quarterley, Jay Beasley, Chuck Buchanan Jr.