Final Race Victory Pushes Steckly To Title


FRASERVILLE, Ontario — Scott Steckly has been battling back all season. He won the Pinty’s 250 at Kawartha Speedway in a green-white-checkered finish on Sunday to come from behind to win the 2013 championship in the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 by just two points.

The Milverton, Ontario driver had to win the race and lead the most laps to earn the maximum 48 points to overcome a five-point deficit coming into the event in order to become the first three-time series champion. Steckly led a race-high 113 laps en route to the victory.

After beginning the 2013 campaign with a pair of finishes outside the top 20, Steckly mounted a charge that included three straight wins in July. He entered the final race, which was delayed a day by rain, trailing defending champion D.J. Kennington in the championship standings.

Steckly demonstrated the strength of his No. 22 Canadian Tire Dodge early in the day on Sunday, topping the practice charts and winning his 12th career series pole.

He led the early portion of the race, making a point of staying ahead of Kennington. After pitting twice during the second caution, Steckly and Kennington restarted 12th and 13th, respectively. The pair steadily worked their way to the front as Jason Hathaway, who entered the event with a mathematical shot at the title, pulled away with a big lead.

All three title contenders stopped for right side tires during a caution on Lap 150 and from there set sail to the finish. Jeff Lapcevich led initially, but soon gave way to Pete Shepherd III.

The trio of title contenders battled among themselves as they closed in and moved by Lapcevich for second. Hathaway, who slipped by Kennington, challenged Shepherd for the lead following a restart – but saw his hopes dashed with a spin in turn four.

Steckly took advantage on the restart and raced Shepherd side-by-side for the lead – eventually getting the top spot for good after contact coming out of turn four. Steckly went on to win by a margin of .580 seconds over Shepherd, with Lapcevich third and Kennington fourth. Martin Roy came home fifth.

The finish:

Scott Steckly, Pete Shepherd III, Jeff Lapcevich, D.J. Kennington, Martin Roy, Noel Dowler, Donald Chisholm, Mark Dilley, Ron Beauchamp Jr., Ryley Seibert, Jason Hathaway, Jason White, Brad Graham, Daniel Bois, James White, Joey McColm, Alex Guenette, Howie Scannell Jr., Hugo Vannini, Derek White, L.P. Dumoulin, Ray Courtemanche Jr., Trevor Monaghan, Jason Hankewich, J.R. Fitzpatrick, Larry Jackson.