Coby Dashes To NHMS Accolades


LOUDON, N.H. — Doug Coby held on in a two-lap dash to the finish to win the F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway Saturday to score his fifth NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win of the season.

It marked the seventh career win and first victory at the Magic Mile for the Milford, Conn., driver, who extended his lead in the championship standings.

In a race that featured lead changes on nearly every lap early on, Coby took command on lap 84 and never relinquished the top spot. While he charged to the checkered flag after a restart with two laps remaining, second-place running Ted Christopher ended up slamming the wall after contact from Donny Lia, who went on to take the runner-up spot as the race finished under caution.

The race appeared to mark a turnaround for Coby, who started the season with top 10s in each of the first eight races, but had finishes of 11th, 13th and 22nd in the three outings leading to New Hampshire.

Following Coby and Lia across the finish line were Ron Silk, Ryan Newman and Rowan Pennink. Eric Beers, Richie Pallai Jr., Matt Hirschman, Ron Yuhas Jr. and Ryan Preece rounded out the top 10.

The finish:

Doug Coby, Donny Lia, Ron Silk, Ryan Newman, Rowan Pennink, Eric Beers, Richie Pallai Jr., Matt Hirschman, Ron Yuhas Jr., Ryan Preece, Eric Berndt, Patrick Emerling, Ed Flemke Jr., Woody Pitkat, Jamie Tomaino, Cole Powell, Ted Christopher, Eric Goodale, Wade Cole, Mike Christopher, Johnny Bush, Bryon Chew, Jimmy Blewett, Andy Seuss, Todd Szegedy, Justin Bonsignore, Ken Heagy, Bobby Santos, Mike Stefanik, Steve Dickey, Rob Fuller.