Blewett Crashes But Still Grabs Loudon Pole


LOUDON, N.H. – Mixed emotions befell Jimmy Blewett on Friday evening at New Hampshire Motor Speedway as he earned his third career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Coors Light Pole Award in qualifying for Saturday’s Town Fair 100.

Blewett, from Howell, N.J., secured his first pole at the “Magic Mile” on his first lap of qualifying at 29.691 seconds (128.281 mph), but his No. 76 John Blewett Incorporated Chevrolet wrecked hard into the wall in the second circuit.

Without a back-up car at the track this weekend, Blewett’s status for Saturday was uncertain as the Whelen Modified Tour garage officially closed on Friday.

A five-time winner during his Whelen Modified Tour career, Blewett is chasing his first checkered flag at NHMS, where his best career finish in 16 previous events was second place in 2010.

Ted Christopher, a five-time tour winner in Loudon, qualified second-fastest at 29.783 (127.885). Bryon Chew joined him on the qualifying podium with a fast lap of 29.806 (127.786) around the 1.058-mile oval.

Bobby Santos, Eric Goodale, Andy Seuss, Woody Pitkat, Rowan Pennink, Donny Lia and defending Town Fair Tire 100 winner Mike Stefanik rounded out Friday’s top-10 qualifiers.

Season points leader Ryan Preece finished 12th-fastest in qualifying.

Blewett wasn’t the only driver to have problems among the 32-car field in the qualifying session. A two-time winner at NHMS, Ron Silk wrecked on his first qualifying lap while Kyle Ebersole – making his Whelen Modified Tour debut – was not able to get out on the track to take time.