SMI Promotes Veteran Executives


CHARLOTTE, N.C. – In a continued effort to recognize strong leaders from within the company, Speedway Motorsports Inc. has promoted seven veteran SMI executives.

The promotions, announced today by SMI Chairman O. Bruton Smith, have been approved by the SMI Board of Directors and are effective immediately.

“These seasoned executives have all shown strong leadership and dedication to our company,” Smith said. “Their years of experience continue to position Speedway Motorsports as one of the world’s premier sports entertainment companies.”

Promotions include:

Donald G. Hawk, Jr. Senior Vice President of Business Affairs

James Scudder, Senior Vice President and Chief Accounting Officer

Randall A. Storey, Senior Vice President and Tax Director, Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer

Cynthia M. Jacobson, Senior Vice President of Human Resources

J. Cary Tharrington IV, Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel and Secretary

Michael D. Burch, Senior Vice President – National Sales and Marketing

Braun Smith, Vice President – Sales

“Combined, these hard-working executives have nearly 100 years of experience within the Speedway Motorsports family and much more industry experience beyond that,” Smith said. “With their unmatched expertise, unwavering passion for our brand and continued efforts to expand customer expectations, I’m confident these leaders will continue to place Speedway Motorsports at the forefront of innovation and customer satisfaction for years to come.”

Speedway Motorsports Inc., through its subsidiaries, owns and operates Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Kentucky Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Sonoma Raceway and Texas Motor Speedway.

Previous articleVIDEO: Old-School World Of Outlaws
Next articlePHOTOS: USCS Sprints At Clayhill is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.