William Byron Claims Pocono 400 Pole

William Byron won the pole for the Pocono 400 Saturday afternoon. (Dave Moulthrop Photo)
William Byron won the pole for the Pocono 400 Saturday afternoon. (Dave Moulthrop Photo)

LONG POND, Pa. – William Byron earned his second Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series pole in as many weeks on Saturday afternoon at Pocono Raceway.

Byron, who won the pole for the Coca-Cola 600 last week at Charlotte Motor Speedway, claimed the pole for the Pocono 400 with a 51.875-second lap at 173.494 mph in his Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet.

Byron was the only driver to top 173 miles per hour during qualifying. Now he’ll turn his attention as he continues to pursue his first series victory.

“It’s on me to know what I need throughout the race and I feel like I’m starting to learn a little bit of what it takes in the last 100 laps instead of the first 80, which we’ve been pretty good,” said the 21-year-old after earning his third pole of the season. “It’s an impound race, so it’s great to see our speed is there.”

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship leader Kyle Busch qualified second in his Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. Clint Bowyer, Erik Jones and Brad Keselowski completed the top-five in qualifying.

The remainder of the top-10 includes Denny Hamlin, Kyle Larson, Jimmie Johnson, Daniel Suarez and Austin Dillon.

Saturday’s qualifying session featured a slight change to single-car qualifying. Three cars were on track at the same time, with each car departing pit road in 15 second intervals. When the final car in the group finished their qualifying run and reached the tunnel turn the next group would be released to qualify.

Pocono 400 Starting Lineup

1. William Byron

2. Kyle Busch

3. Clint Bowyer

4. Erik Jones

5. Brad Keselowski

6. Denny Hamlin

7. Kyle Larson

8. Jimmie Johnson

9. Daniel Suarez

10. Austin Dillon

11. Kevin Harvick

12. Chase Elliott

13. Aric Almirola

14. Paul Menard

15. Alex Bowman

16. Joey Logano

17. Ryan Blaney

18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

19. Ryan Newman

20. Martin Truex Jr.

21. Kurt Busch

22. Matt DiBenedetto

23. Daniel Hemric

24. Chris Buescher

25. Ty Dillon

26. Bubba Wallace

27. David Ragan

28. Michael McDowell

29. Ryan Preece

30. Matt Tifft

31. Landon Cassill

32. Ross Chastain

33. Corey LaJoie

34. Bayley Currey

35. Reed Sorenson

36. Quin Houff

37. J.J. Yeley