Weather Nixes Friday Cup Action, Hamlin On Pole

Weather Nixes Friday
Denny Hamlin will start first in Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. (Toyota Racing photo)

HOMESTEAD, Fla. – Mother Nature washed out all on-track activity for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Friday at Homestead-Miami Speedway, forcing a major change to Saturday’s schedule.

As a result of the lack of track time for Cup Series teams, NASCAR officials have elected to replace qualifying – scheduled for Saturday at 2:05 p.m. ET – with a 50-minute practice session.

That means the starting lineup for Sunday’s title-deciding Ford EcoBoost 400 will be set by the rule book, with Denny Hamlin leading the field to green at the 1.5-mile South Florida oval in the No. 11 FedEx Express Toyota Camry.

Hamlin earned the top starting spot by virtue of his victory at ISM Raceway and fourth-place finish in the Round of 8 opener at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway on Oct. 27.

With three of the four title contenders winning during the Round of 8, the tiebreaker went to the best finish besides their respective victories over the races at Martinsville, Texas Motor Speedway and ISM.

Kevin Harvick joins Hamlin on the front row in the No. 4 Busch Light Ford Mustang, with a second-best finish of fifth at ISM last weekend slotting him second among the quartet of championship contenders.

Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch will share the second row of the grid Sunday, with the four title combatants starting in the first four positions as they battle for the Cup Series championship trophy.

Joey Logano will roll off fifth, followed by Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Brad Keselowski, William Byron and Clint Bowyer.

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship race will take the green flag shortly after 3 p.m. ET on Sunday, with live coverage on NBC, the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90.

LINEUP: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series; Homestead-Miami Speedway; Nov. 15, 2019

  1. Denny Hamlin (P)
  2. Kevin Harvick (P)
  3. Martin Truex Jr. (P)
  4. Kyle Busch (P)
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Ryan Blaney
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. William Byron
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Chase Elliott
  12. Alex Bowman
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Erik Jones
  17. Daniel Suarez
  18. Jimmie Johnson
  19. Paul Menard
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Matt DiBenedetto
  22. Austin Dillon
  23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  24. Ty Dillon
  25. Daniel Hemric
  26. Ryan Preece
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. Michael McDowell
  29. Corey LaJoie
  30. John Hunter Nemechek
  31. David Ragan
  32. Joe Nemechek
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. JJ Yeley
  35. Reed Sorenson
  36. Ross Chastain
  37. Drew Herring
  38. Josh Bilicki
  39. BJ McLeod
  40. Timmy Hill