Kyle Busch Lands On Pole For Kentucky Cup Race

Kyle Busch Lands
Kyle Busch will start on pole for Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series race at Kentucky Speedway. (Toyota Racing photo)

SPARTA, Ky. – After several weeks of up-and-down luck in the NASCAR Cup Series, Kyle Busch caught a break Wednesday night ahead of the Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway.

Busch earned the pole for the 17th race of the Cup Series season courtesy of the random lottery draw held to set the starting lineup. It’s the second time he’ll lead the field to green this season and the first since Las Vegas (Nev.) Motor Speedway in late February.

Ironically, Busch’s pole start at Las Vegas also carried an element of luck to it, as he earned that grid position based on owner points from the previous year when qualifying was rained out.

Joey Logano will join Busch on the front row Sunday, putting the most recent two Cup champions at the front of the field. Kevin Harvick and Aric Almirola will share row two.

Alex Bowman fills out the top five, followed by Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch, Chase Elliott, Martin Truex Jr. and Matt DiBenedetto.

Making his return to the NASCAR Cup Series after missing the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway due to a positive COVID-19 test, Jimmie Johnson will roll off 20th Sunday in search of his first win at Kentucky’s 1.5-mile oval.

Sunday’s Quaker State 400 airs at 2:30 p.m. ET, live on FS1, the Performance Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90.

The full lineup can be viewed below.

Starting lineup for the NASCAR Cup Series Quaker State 400:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Alex Bowman
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Chase Elliott
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Matt DiBenedetto
  11. Ryan Blaney
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Chris Buescher
  14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  15. Clint Bowyer
  16. Erik Jones
  17. Matt Kenseth
  18. Bubba Wallace
  19. Austin Dillon
  20. Jimmie Johnson
  21. William Byron
  22. John Hunter Nemechek
  23. Ryan Newman
  24. Tyler Reddick
  25. Garrett Smithley
  26. Josh Bilicki
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Quin Houff
  29. Cole Custer
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. Brennan Poole
  32. Ryan Preece
  33. Ty Dillon
  34. Christopher Bell
  35. Joey Gase
  36. J.J. Yeley
  37. Daniel Suarez
  38. Timmy Hill