Inspection Bites Eight Drivers At Richmond

Chase Elliott was one of seven drivers whose cars failed post-qualifying inspection Saturday at Richmond Raceway. (HHP/Jeff Fluharty Photo)

RICHMOND, Va. – Erik Jones was among eight drivers who had their qualifying times disallowed after failing post-qualifying inspection Saturday at Richmond Raceway.

Jones, who was scheduled to start Saturday’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at Richmond from second, will now have to start at the tail of the field after his No. 20 Toyota failed inspection.

With Jones failing inspection, Kurt Busch will now start second alongside polesitter Kevin Harvick Saturday evening at Richmond Raceway.

Jones won’t be alone at the tail of the field. Also joining him at the rear will be Chase Elliott, Daniel Suarez, Jimmie Johnson, Aric Almirola, Denny Hamlin, Matt Tifft and Joey Gase. Each of their cars failed inspection Saturday, resulting in their qualifying times being disallowed.

The official top-10 starters for Saturday’s event are now Harvick, Kurt Busch, Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Austin Dillon, Chris Buescher, Brad Keselowski, Paul Menard and Kyle Larson.

Elliott was scheduled to start seventh, Suarez ninth, Johnson 10th, Almirola 15th, Hamlin 18th, Tifft 20th and Gase 36th.

The cars of Elliott, Hamlin and Tifft failed also failed inspection a second time, resulting in a crew member from each team being ejected from the track for the remainder of the weekend.