NASCAR Penalizes Three Teams For Lug Nut Violations


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – NASCAR has penalized two teams in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series for lug nut violations discovered after Saturday’s Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond Raceway.

The No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing team of driver Kurt Busch and the No. 77 Furniture Row Racing team of driver Erik Jones each were found to have one loose lug nut in post-race inspection.

Crew chiefs Tony Gibson (No. 41) and Chris Gayle (No. 77) were fined $10,000 each.

In addition, the XFNITY Series No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing team of Matt Tifft also had one loose lug nut. Tifft’s crew chief Matthew Beckman was fined $5,000.

Previous articleSchedule Set For 50th Snowball Derby
Next articleVIDEO: NASCAR Sets Cup Series Playoff Field is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.