LaJoie Earns Iowa Redemption


NEWTON, Iowa — Corey LaJoie finally was able to celebrate in Victory Lane at Iowa Speedway, closing out a dominating effort Friday night with a win in the Pork Be Inspired 150.

It was the third NASCAR K&N Pro Series win of the season for LaJoie and may be the sweetest — coming on the heels of a flat tire in the final laps at Columbus Motor Speedway.

In the May race at Iowa, LaJoie was fast early, but had a mechanical issue that put him down several laps that he was not able to recover even as he was running similar lap times as the race leaders. In 2010, he was part of a three-wide battle for the lead at the white flag but ultimately finished fourth.

Friday, there was no misfortunate to keep LaJoie out of Victory Lane.

He weathered a side-by-side battle with rookie Kyle Larson, who ultimately finished second, and then pulled away following a late red flag that set up a 14-lap sprint to the finish. Just prior to the last caution that brought out the red, LaJoie and Larson ran three straight laps side by side with Larson a nose with ahead at the line each time.

After LaJoie and Larson, Sergio Pena finished third. Chase Elliott was fourth and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East point leader Brett Moffitt was fifth.

Travis Pastrana finished sixth, followed by Cale Conley, Eddie MacDonald, Michael Self and Daniel Suarez.

Self was the top finishing NASCAR K&N Pro Series West driver in the second combination event of the season between the East and West.

The finish:

Corey LaJoie, Kyle Larson, Sergio Pena, Chase Elliott, Brett Moffitt, Travis Pastrana, Cale Conley, Eddie MacDonald, Michael Self, Daniel Suarez, Jorge Arteaga, Cameron Hayley, Darrell Wallace Jr., Bryan Ortiz, Travis Miller, Jimmy Weller, Chad Boat, Eric Holmes, David Mayhew, Greg Pursley, CJ Faison, Ryan Philpott, Jonathon Gomez, Sam Hunt, Brandon Gdovic, Carl Harr, Dylan Kwasniewski, Ben Kennedy, Derek Thorn, Matt DiBenedetto, Akinori Ogata, Dylan Presnell, Ryan Gifford, Ryan Blaney, Brennan Newberry, Austin Dyne