Johnson First Four-Time All-Star Winner

Jimmie Johnson celebrates after winning Saturday's NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. (NASCAR Photo)
Jimmie Johnson celebrates after winning Saturday’s NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. (NASCAR Photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – Jimmie Johnson became the first four-time winner of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Saturday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway, cashing another $1 million check in the process.

If it weren’t for Johnson’s pit crew, he likely wouldn’t have found his way to victory lane. Kurt Busch and his younger brother Kyle Busch dominated the first four segments of the race, each winning two segments.

After Kurt Busch won the fourth segment, NASCAR rearranged the field based on the average finish of each driver in the first four segments. Kurt Busch lined up first for the mandatory four-tire pit stop, with Kyle Busch right behind him.

Kasey Kahne was able to beat everyone else off of pit road, with Johnson right behind him in second. Kyle Busch, Joey Logano and Kurt Busch followed.

When the field returned to racing Kahne was able to stay side-by-side briefly, but within two laps Johnson cleared Kahne and began to pull away. Logano drove by Kahne a few laps later to take second, but by then Johnson was well on his way to a $1 million victory.

“This means the world to me. I really didn’t think we had a shot at winning tonight (after) starting 20th,” said Johnson, who beat Logano to the finish by 1.722 seconds. “We had a great race car and worked our way through there and got the job done.”