Busch Can’t Give Ballew Owner’s Title


HOMESTEAD, Fla. — The battle for the Camping World Truck Series owner’s championship came right down to the wire, with Kevin Harvick, Inc. co-owners DeLana and Kevin Harvick taking the championship by 73 points over Billy Ballew Motorsports.

Ron Hornaday, Jr., who also won the driver’s championship for KHI, handled the No. 33 throughout the season, staving off Ballew’s No. 51 Toyota, which was primarily wheeled by Kyle Busch.

“It would have been really bad if we did not win that owner’s championship,” said Hornaday. “This team really deserves it. Kevin and DeLana have given us the equipment to do the stuff that we do. Five wins in a row is remarkable, and that’s because of Rick Ren and all the guys, and Kevin and DeLana letting us build new trucks week in and week out.

“I went up there probably two months ago and I had like 11 trucks done. I went back up there two weeks ago and only had four trucks. So, Kevin keeps selling my trucks and building new ones. I’m not going to complain because they’re faster than anything you drive.”

– Only two drivers failed to qualify for the season ending Ford 200. Veteran Mike Harmon and Canadian newcomer Derek White packed up and went home early.

– Johnny Sauter was the top finishing rookie of the race. He started and finished ninth in the event aboard a Chevrolet for owner Mike Curb and ThorSports. Sauter, a veteran in other series, is the 2009 NASCAR Raybestos Rookie of the Year for the Camping World Truck Series.

– The biggest surprise of the season may well have been Timothy Peters. Early in the season he was running a self-funded operation out of his home shop in tiny Providence, N.C., but at mid season he joined Red Horse Racing with backing from Strutmasters and he made the team proud, including winning the event at Martinsville, Va., in October.