Sykes Wins World Superbike Superpole

Tom Sykes won superpole for the second round in a row.
Tom Sykes won superpole for the second round in a row. (PHOTO: World SBK)

IMOLA, Spain – Pole position was taken by Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) for the second round in succession, after he set a new track best of 1 minute 46.748 seconds in Superpole 3.

French rider Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing Ducati) went second, after a late charge from Carlos Checa (Althea Racing Ducati) was ultimately unsuccessful. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) was fourth and first BMW rider in the final pre-race rankings, while Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) made it to the head of the second row, fifth overall. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) went sixth at his home circuit.

Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) was seventh but suffered a very fast high-side crash, walking away after a heavy impact on the tarmac. The last place on the second row went to Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Racing Team).

1Tom SykesKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10R01:47.5
2Sylvain GuintoliTeam Effenbert Liberty RacingDucati 1098R01:47.6
3Leon HaslamBMW Motorrad MotorsportBMW S1000 RR01:47.6
4Carlos ChecaAlthea RacingDucati 1098R01:47.8
5Marco MelandriBMW Motorrad MotorsportBMW S1000 RR01:47.8
6Eugene LavertyAprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 1000 F01:47.9
7Leon CamierCrescent SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100001:48.1
8Jakub SmrzTeam Effenbert Liberty RacingDucati 1098R01:48.1
9Joan LascorzKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10R01:48.2
10Jonathan ReaHonda World Superbike TeamHonda CBR1000RR01:48.2
11Max BiaggiAprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 1000 F01:48.2
12L. ZanettiPATADucati 1098R01:48.3
13Niccolo CanepaTeam Ducati RomaDucati 1098R01:48.4
14Maxime BergerLiberty Racing - Team EffenbertDucati 1098R01:48.4
15Ayrton BadoviniBMW Motorrad Italia GOLDBET SBK TeamBMW S1000 RR01:48.5
16Davide GiuglianoAlthea RacingDucati 1098R01:48.6
17Chaz DaviesParkinGO Aprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 1000 F01:48.9
18Michel FabrizioBMW Motorrad Italia GOLDBET SBK TeamBMW S1000 RR01:48.9
19John HopkinsCrescent SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100001:49.8
20David SalomTeam PederciniKawasaki ZX-10R01:49.9