13 Rounds, 11 Countries For World Superbike

Jonathan Rea raced to victory in World Superbike action Saturday in Portugal. (WorldSBK Photo)
World Superbike has announced its 2020 schedule. (WorldSBK Photo)

MADRID, Spain – FIM and the Dorna WSBK Organization have set the Superbike World Championship schedule for next season.

The schedule includes 13 rounds taking place ion 11 countries and on four different continents. The season will begin in Australia at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit on Feb. 28-March 1. It will be preceded by the annual final pre-season official test on Feb. 24-25.

Following Australia, the Superbike stars will fly to Qatar to compete at Losail Int’l Circuit from March 13-15. Circuit de Jerez in Spain will begin the European schedule on March 27-29, followed by TT Circuit Assen in the Netherlands on April 17-19.

Round five will take place at Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola in Italy on May 8-10, followed by MotorLand Aragon in Spain on May 22-24. Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli is next on June 12-14, followed by England’s Donington Park on July 3-5.

A fresh addition to the schedule is a visit to Motosport Arena Oschersleben in Germany on July 31-Aug. 2. Portugal is next on the schedule, with the tour visiting Autódromo Internacional do Algarve on Sept. 4-6.

Sept. 18-20 will see the series visit Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, followed by the final European event of the season at France’s Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours on Sept. 25-27.

The final race of the season will take place in South America at Argentina’s Circuito San Juan Villicum on Oct. 9-11.