What To Look For In ’16 Supercross Season

Do not use for charts!!!

AURORA, Ill. – Numerous story lines populate Monster Energy AMA Supercross prior to the beginning of its 2016 campaign.

Here’s a look at some things to watch when the season begins:

Can Chad Reed make at least 14 starts to become only the third rider in supercross history to reach the 200 mark in the 450SX Class?

Can Reed claim five wins to get to 50 all-time 450SX Class victories?

Can Reed earn one podium to tie Kevin Windham for the second most 450SX Class seasons with at least one top-three finish?

Reed will be third all-time for 450SX Class seasons with a start by lining up on the gate at the Anaheim Opener.

Can Reed extend his record of consecutive seasons with a 450SX Class win? He currently has 11.

Can Ryan Dungey earn 12 top five finishes to finish the season with at least 100? Only four other riders in history have done this.

Can Dungey tie Ricky Carmichael for third on the all-time 450SX Class podium list by the end of the season? He’ll need 14 podiums to do so.

Can Dungey duplicate his career high of eight wins in a season to reach 30 career 450SX Class wins? It would put him in 6th all-time.

Can Dungey keep his 54-race 450SX Class start streak alive?

Can Davi Millsaps win a 450SX Class race on a KTM to join Dungey and Ken Roczen as the only riders to earn a 450SX Class win for the Austrian manufacturer? Can Marvin Musquin or Dean Wilson do the same?

Can KTM earn a 450SX Class win for the fifth consecutive season? And can KTM win back-to-back 450SX Class titles for the first time?

Can Honda win the 450SX Class title for the first time in 12 seasons? Carmichael won the title aboard his Honda in ’03. For Yamaha, it has been eight seasons since Stewart won in ’09; Suzuki hasn’t won the trophy in seven seasons since Dungey’s rookie year in ’10, and Kawasaki is looking to Eli Tomac to take over where Ryan Villopoto left off, giving the brand four consecutive championships from ’11-’14.

Can Tomac win to get Monster Energy Kawasaki back atop the podium? Last season marked the first time since 2004 that the Factory Kawasaki team went winless in the 450SX Class. It would be Tomac’s second different brand to win a 450SX Class race with.

Will a Kawasaki rider earn a win to keep the brand’s streak of 11 consecutive seasons with at least one 450SX Class victory alive? Reed gave Kawasaki its lone win in ’15.

Tomac was runner-up in the ’15 450SX Class championship. Five times in 450SX Class history the runner-up has gone on to win the championship the following season – Rick Johnson ’88, McGrath ’98, Reed ’04 and ’08, and Dungey ’15.

Can Roczen win the Anaheim Opener for the third consecutive season? Only Jeremy McGrath has won three consecutive openers.

Can Dungey win the Anaheim Opener for the first time in his career?

Can James Stewart earn 12 podiums to pass Carmichael for third on the all-time 450SX Class podium list?

Can Stewart earn 11 top five finishes to pass Carmichael for fifth place on the all-time 450SX Class top five finishes list?

Can Stewart earn a 450SX Class win for the 11th season? Only Reed has reached that mark.

Can Stewart join Carmichael as the only riders to win a 450SX Class title on three different brands? Dungey, McGrath, and Stewart all have won 450SX Class titles on two brands.

Can rookies Marvin Musquin or Christophe Pourcel join Jean Micheal-Bayle as the only French riders to win a 450SX Class title?

Can Yamaha break its 58-race 450SX Class winless streak? The brand’s last victory was with Stewart at Daytona back in ’12.

Can Jason Anderson or Pourcel give Husqvarna its first ever 450SX Class win?

Can all six brands win a 450SX Class race? Four different brands have won a 450SX Class race six times since ’05.

Who will become the 60th different rider to win a 450SX Class race?

Since ’08, the 450SX Class season has had at least one first time winner a season. Two riders earned their first career wins in ’15 – Tomac and Cole Seely.

If Stewart wins the title, it will be seven years between his most recent 450SX Class Championships, breaking Dungey’s record of five years set last season.

Reed, who has finished second in the 450SX Class Championship six times, is the only rider in 450SX Class history to finish runner-up on three different brands.

Dungey, Reed, and Stewart are all active riders with two 450SX Class championships. Rick Johnson and Jeff Ward have also won two championships. Can Dungey, Reed, or Stewart earn a third 450SX Class Championship to join Bob Hannah and Jeff Stanton as three-time titleholders? Jeremy McGrath, Ricky Carmichael and Ryan Villopoto all surpassed that mark.