Rivalries Renewed During Classic TT

John McGuinness during the 2013 Classic TT on the Isle of Man. (IOM TT Photo)
John McGuinness during the 2013 Classic TT on the Isle of Man. (IOM TT Photo)

Guy Martin and Michael Dunlop add further weight to the Norton challenge with the duo riding Andy Molnar’s 4 valve Manx’s and the list of potential winners keeps coming in the shape of Gary Johnson and Dean Harrison who will be both mounted on MV Agustas. Davies Motorsport also have two riders capable of the victory on their Honda machines with last year’s runner up William Dunlop and long-time Classic race exponent Alan Oversby continuing with the team for a second year.

Multiple Manx GP winner Roy Richardson will ensure that Italy has another shot at the top step as he again rides the FCL Racing/Bullock Manxsport Aermacchi with Cameron Donald sure to be the leading contender on a Matchless, the Aussie ace again riding for Ripley Land Racing. Keith Amor (Dunnell Racing), Jamie Coward (Ted Woof), Bill Swallow (Works Racing Motorcycles) and Daniel Cooper (Molnar Manx) add further strength in depth to Norton’s effort.

James Hillier (CSC Racing), Dan Stewart (Wilcock Consulting), Paul Coward (Werner Molders), David Madsen Mygdal (Gimbert Racing) and James Cowton will all be Honda mounted with Mark Herbertson (Gilbert Brown Matchless), Allan Brew (Luviair Matchless), Mark Parrett (Chas Mortimer Norton), Chris Swallow (DG Kenah Norton), Bob Owen (Dave & Alan Green Matchless) and Rob Barber (Econoloft Seeley Matchless) will also be optimistic for a good result.

Chris McGahan, Maria Costello, riding another Paton, Nigel Moore, Stuart Garton, Shaun Anderson, Bruno Leroy, Phil McGurk, Stephen Thompson and Alec Whitwell are just some other names expected to feature from the 90-strong entry but keep an eye too on 1993 Formula 1 TT race winner Nick Jefferies and nine-times TT winner Charlie Williams, the latter having his first competitive race around the Mountain Course since he finished fifth in the 1984 250cc Production race.