Webb Wins, Haaker Is Champion

Cody Webb

BOISE, Idaho — Rockstar Husqvarna’s Colton Haaker locked up his second AMA EnduroCross championship with a conservative second place finish at the Boise finale.

FMF KTM’s Cody Webb did everything he could to hang onto his number one plate by taking the win in front of another large and enthusiastic crowd.

Third place for the night went to Beta’s Ty Tremaine, who also narrowly beat SRT-Husqvarna’s Kyle Redmond for third in the championship after both battled for most of the main event.

Haaker started the day by taking the fastest hot lap time just a tenth of a second faster than Webb. Tremaine, GasGas backed Geoff Aaron and Dustin McCarthy rounded out the top five.

Haaker kept the momentum going in the first heat race by taking the win and bonus point ahead of Tremaine. Ty Cullins rode his Beta to third place. Mason Ottersberg, Cooper Abbott and Max Gerston also earned spots in the main event.

In heat two, Webb took the win and matched Haaker with the bonus point. GasGas backed Noah Kepple finished a strong second. Redmond, Aaron, Nick Thompson and Cory Graffunder rounded out the top six spots to move to the main event.

The bracket races were up next for the top four riders from each of the two heat races. Those riders race in single lap, head-to-head races. Haaker and Webb moved through the brackets to face off for a bonus point and first gate pick for the main. Webb took the lead out of the first turn and led about half of the lap before he pushed too hard into a sand turn and went down. This handed the win and bonus point to Haaker.

Cullins blasted his Beta 300 two-stroke to the front at the start of the main event, just ahead of Haaker and Webb. The two championship combatants moved past Cullins, who had troubles and dropped back to ninth by the end of the first lap. Haaker led the first two laps and Webb jumped a huge log double to close right up to his back wheel and then made a pass for the lead on lap three.

Webb kept jumping the large double to open a gap on Haaker, who was riding a conservative race to clinch the championship. Haaker made it through the No Joke Lane on lap nine of 15 and the only drama remaining for Webb was to make it through the No Joke Lane himself without losing time. Webb did that on lap eleven and went on for his third win of the season.

The battle for third in the race and championship between Tremaine and Redmond was intense. Redmond came into the race with a single point lead over Tremaine so whichever rider finished in front of the other would take the spot. Tremaine quickly worked up from eighth position on lap one to lock into a battle with Redmond. They traded third a few times before Tremaine opened a gap in the closing laps.

Redmond held on for fourth position in the race and championship.

Fifth place went to Cullins, who recovered from his tough first lap. The strong finish also earned Cullins the Junior EnduroCross championship, which is a championship within a championship for riders twenty-one and under. The nineteen-year-old also finished the season in sixth place.

Aaron finished the race in sixth to cap off a solid season that ended up with him earning fifth in the championship, just a single point ahead of Cullins. For Aaron, a former main event winner who has raced most of the EnduroCross events since the first one in 2004, this was his best season in several years.