Six Straight For EnduroCross Star Cody Webb

Cody Webb (Endurcross photo)

ONTARIO, Calif. — Cody Webb took his sixth straight AMA EnduroCross main event win, this one inside the Citizens Business Bank Arena.

The FMF KTM Factory Racing backed rider also earned his third EnduroCross championship in four seasons. RPM KTM backed Ty Tremaine put up a good fight and finished second on the night. And Team SRT’s Cory Graffunder finished the season strong with a third.

The Super EnduroCross Junior championship, a championship within a championship, recognizes Super EnduroCross riders twenty-one and under; Team SRT’s Trystan Hart held off Tremaine to take the title by a single point. The two also finished second and third respectively in the overall championship.

In the Women’s class, Canada’s Shelby Turner, took her second championship in a row. The Canadian won five of the seven races and finished second in the two races she did not win.

Webb started the night with the fastest hot lap during the afternoon and then also took the win in the gate pick qualifier. Tremaine was second in the hot laps and kept Webb honest with a second-place finish in the qualifier. Cooper Abbott held off Hart for third in the gate pick qualifier.

The gate pick qualifier also determines the match ups for the bracket races and the final came down to Webb and Tremaine. Tremaine put up a good fight, but Webb managed to take the lead out of the first turn and take the win.

Webb did not get a great jump to start the main event but managed to take the lead through the first obstacle, the challenging wood pit. Webb led most of the first lap but then went down in the rock pile and dropped back to sixth position. Webb quickly worked up to third behind Tremaine and Kyle Redmond, but stayed there until the sixth lap when he passed Redmond and Tremaine, who took the No Joke lane. Once in the lead, Webb pushed hard to open enough of a gap to hold the lead when he took the No Joke lane, which he finally did on lap 12 of 14. Webb executed it perfectly to hold the lead and take the win.

Tremaine held a relatively close second and finished 11 seconds behind Webb. He also finished third in the championship for the second year in a row, but was a little disappointed to lose out on second position by a single point.

Graffunder put in another great race to take third away from Redmond on the final lap. Redmond held second for the first nine laps, then dropped to third and lost one more position when he took the No Joke lane on the final lap. GasGas backed Noah Kepple rode a steady race to finish fifth, matching his best finish of the season.

“The race wasn’t the most stressful race of the year but I sure made it hard on myself,” Webb said. “I got a great start and went into the rocks and the bike just disappeared out of my hands. From there I just wanted to be patient and smart and was going fast through the wood pit and the same thing happened and I ricocheted out of the wood pit almost to the concrete. At that point I just paced off Ty Tremaine and Kyle Redmond who were right there and tried not to go crazy. I got past Kyle and then past Ty when he went through the No Joke lane. But right after that, again, I hit a rock or something in the dirt on a flat corner and tucked the front end—almost going down again! Luckily I fought through it all and had a good enough lead that I could take the No Joke and get the win.”