Impressive 500cc Classic TT Lineup Confirmed

Chris Swallow is one of several names targeting the Bennetts 500cc Classic Race on the Isle of Man.
Chris Swallow is one of several names targeting the Bennetts 500cc Classic Race on the Isle of Man.

ISLE OF MAN – The inaugural Classic TT Races presented by Bennetts is set to open with a sensational line up in the Bennetts 500cc Classic Race.

The stunning combination of leading modern day TT greats will do battle with the established Classic racing stars on an amazing array of machinery. With multiple TT and Manx GP winners and world-class teams from across the globe the 92 strong entry is set to rival that of any modern day event on the 2013 International road racing calendar.

The Bennetts 500cc Race will see the second round in the captivating battles between current King of the Mountain John McGuinness and Michael Dunlop, the man who dominated this year’s TT Races meeting with four victories.

The duo are set to relive their TT battles from June as they go to head to head in the opening event of race week on Aug. 24, with McGuinness riding the Team Winfield Italian Paton machine previously taken to numerous race wins by Ryan Farquhar, and Dunlop on board a Norton from the Molnar Manx stable that will run in the colors of his own MD Racing Team. McGuinness and Dunlop retain their TT starting positions of three and six respectively.

However, they won’t have it all their own way with no less than 8 out of the first 10 starters from the PokerStars Senior TT Race in the entry including Cameron Donald and Bruce Anstey who fly the Australian and New Zealand flags once more. The antipodean duo be riding for Ripley Land (Matchless) and McIntosh Racing / Mobil 1 (Norton) respectively.

Previous articlePHOTOS: USAC Sprints At Lincoln Park
Next articleScuderia Corsa Adds Second Car For Indy is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.